Getting an unlocked (SIM-free) phone connected


Last Updated:

  1. prepbgg

    prepbgg Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm getting close to deciding to buy a SIM-free Hero to use PAYG on the 3 network. When I receive my SIM-free phone what exactly do I do to get it connected? I can see plenty of websites offering APN details and the Hero manual points me to where I need to go to create APN settings on the phone, but I realise that I may flounder when I need to decide exactly what I need to do and in what order. Does anyone know of an idiot's guide setting out the steps I need to take, please?
     

    Advertisement
  2. samuelmaskell

    samuelmaskell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm pretty sure there's only one step. Put in the apn settings and you should be good to go..
    What else would there be?
     
  3. prepbgg

    prepbgg Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    4
    I don't know. That's the point. The high-street shops say it's so complicated that they wouldn't be able to help. Some shops even say you can't do it. Some websites mention lots of settings such as: IP address, DNS address, authentication, etc, etc.

    Is it in fact as simple as:
    1. Buy the SIM
    2. Top it up.
    3. Get it authorised by the 3 Shop.
    4. Put it in the phone.
    5. Turn on the phone.
    6. Go to Settings>Wireless controls> Mobile network settings> Access Point Names
    7. Enter a name (Three UK, for example)
    8. Enter 'three.co.uk' as the APN
    9. Connect to the internet or make a call ?

    Sorry if this is terrible naive. I'm new to all this.
     
  4. invinciblervd

    invinciblervd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using an unlocked Hero on O2-UK and 3G services work fine for me.

    Just do few things -

    All Programs - SIM Toolkit - > Get Settings

    Then go to mobile APN settings, you will see few APNs related to ur service provider.

    Select them one by one and edit
    Change the APN Type to default and save

    Select the particular APN and try connecting. Do this till you get the right one :)

    I did it the same way n worked..

    Hope it helps
     
  5. prepbgg

    prepbgg Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is SIM Toolkit a program that's pre-installed on the phone?
     
  6. invinciblervd

    invinciblervd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not sure but I know for sure that I haven't downloaded it from Market...
     
  7. prepbgg

    prepbgg Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've tried googling and SIM Toolkit seems to be something in Android that "appears" when some SIMs are installed but not when other SIMs are installed!

    What does SIM Toolkit do? Does it perhaps enable the phone to interrogate the SIM to obtain certain information? What do I do if I put in a Three SIM and it doesn't appear?

    I have no experience of smart phones. This is all very confusing for me.
     
  8. invinciblervd

    invinciblervd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok..

    But when you go in Mobile Netwok settings, do you see any details or APNs there ? which you may mark as default and start using it ?
     
  9. prepbgg

    prepbgg Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    4
    I don't have a phone yet! I'm trying to be properly prepared so that I will know what to do when it arrives.
     
  10. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
  11. a_l_a_n

    a_l_a_n Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I may be your man. Have an unlocked hero (sending this message from it in fact using WiFi). Will be heading off to purchase a 3 sim later today. Will let you know how it goes tonight.
     
  12. prepbgg

    prepbgg Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks, Martin.

    That'll be great Alan. If you could spell out for me exactly where the Three settings differ from the O2 settings given in Martin's link I should be very grateful.
     
  13. a_l_a_n

    a_l_a_n Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...