getting calendar event on phone to sync with google calendar

Last Updated:

1. shavald

shavald Member This Topic's Starter

I am new to Android, Google calendar and the Captivate phone.

Have successfully imported my old calendar to Google Calendar which initially synced with the calendar on my captivate.

However, when I add a new event to my phone calendar, it does not automatically show up on the Google calendar. the Samsung rep told me I have to edit each new even to mark it as a "Google Calendar".

Is there any way to make this the default option on the Captivate phone? I am hoping to have automatic syncronization b/t the phone and the Google calendar without having to force it to do so each time.

thanks

Advertisement
  2. lilo

lilo Well-Known Member

Check the settings in the Calendar on the phone. The phone maintains several calendars. As i understand, one is a local calendar. If you connected the phone to your Google calendar, you'll see it on the list of calendars too. When you add a new even in the phone Calendar, there is a field that allows you to specify which calendar should be used (local or Google). If you use local calendar, the event will not be synced with Google calendar. You can edit existing event - and change the calendars in them. Consider disabling local calendar as it might be just a source of confusion.

3. shavald

Thanks for the reply.

So how do I disable the local calendar on my phone so that all events I add go under the Google calendar by default?

4. zeddock

zeddock Member

While in Calendar app, hit menu button, then Settings. Then Calendars. Unselect My Calendar.

But that does not reduce the confusion!

Now, even though you will not see anything to do with entries for the local calendar, when you make an event it will still be defaulted to be created in the Local (My calendar) calendar!!!

Silly!

I am not sure how to fix this. Anyone else?

Thanx!
    zeddock

5. jhnstn00

jhnstn00 Well-Known Member