1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Getting contacts from WM to Android?


Last Updated:

  1. blksith0

    blksith0 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    How would I take the contacts off of my windows mobile phone and put them onto android?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    I assume you already have a Google Account as that will be required once you switch over to Android. Here is a tutorial how to sync your stuff from WM to Google.
     
  3. tonyharlan

    tonyharlan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just export your contacts from Outlook and import them to your gmail account. Then you can merge duplicates and everything, and then push to your device.
     
  4. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Or save your pim file to your computer. Then google "pim to csv". Take that csv file and import it into gmail on your computer, then when you get your android phone, it will all sync up.
     
    p0peye likes this.
  5. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    I really do not see the point of all the hassle if one can set the device up to sync on the go with Google.
     
  6. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    Yes, I forgot you can just sync your WM phone with google, then get the new android phone and it will sync to the new phone.
     
  7. IAmSixNine

    IAmSixNine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    25
    Or if your fortunate enough to have microsoft exchange use that to sync your contacts.
     
  8. blksith0

    blksith0 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    Did you forget to post the link?

    And how would I get my WM phone to sync to Google?
     
  9. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    blksith0 likes this.
  10. blksith0

    blksith0 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm having a tough time with that tutorial there, I'm not sure how to get to that first screenshot on the page. I dont see the option for that anywhere. So I'm trying to use outlook to sync with google or something, I dont know what I'm doing right now.
     
  11. blksith0

    blksith0 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    So, I installed active sync and outlook. And, not sure what to do next, but the option for syncing contacts is grayed out. So, not sure what to do here.
     
  12. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Did you follow the tutorial from my link? There is nothing else you need to do, just sync them from your windows mobile phone and go to your gmail account and go to contacts and they should be there, no Outlook needed.
     
  13. brownhornet

    brownhornet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    34
    When I switched I just sync'd the tp2 with google..
     
  14. blksith0

    blksith0 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    Its that tutorial that Im having trouble with, I dont know how to get to this first screen.[​IMG]
     
  15. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    It's Activesync
     
  16. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    And it says that on the top. Go to Start>Applications to open it
     
  17. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    You wont get that EXACT screen. Just open activesync, then follow the directions to add a new account.
     
  18. blksith0

    blksith0 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ok, well here is the screen I have when I start up active sync.
    [​IMG]

    And then if I go to Menu, Add Server Source, this is what I see.
    [​IMG]

    And the other options are useless.
    So, not sure what to do here.
     
  19. blksith0

    blksith0 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    So, its been about a day. I'm just going to go ahead and bump this up.
     
  20. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    1. You were connected to your PC when you were doing this, wrong, disconnect and go to the app again.

    2. When you open ActiveSync and click Menu>Add Server source. If the option is not there, only the option to configure server, press Options instead, highlight the server you have there and press Delete at the bottom.

    3. Enter your email address, uncheck the tickbox saying 'Attempt to detect Exchange Server...' Press Next.

    4. Follow the tutorialstarting from here: [​IMG]
    Make sure that at the step where you have to enter your full email address you try xxx@googlemail.com and if that does not work try xxx@gmail.com.

    I installed a Windows Mobile emulator from MS and all these steps are correct.

    The only thing that might be wrong is the version fo Windows Mobile you are using.

    Are you using WM Professional (touchscreen device) or WM Standard (non-touchscreen device)?
     
    blksith0 likes this.
  21. Knewz

    Knewz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    72
    Try this if u are still having trouble.
    1.open activesync on the device. add server source. It may ask for you email address, fill in. make sure "Attempt to detect" is checked. hit next.

    2.Username will be your user name@gmail.com. this should grey out the domain box. enter your pass word. makes sure "save password' is checked. hit next.

    3. After that it will process, then bring you to the "Server Address" screen. Input m.google.com.. make sure SSL box is checked. hit next

    4. Check all boxes of things u want to sync.(of course contacts)(checking calender may give u an error when syncing) hit finish.

    It should bring you back to the Activesync main page and be Synchronizing.
     
    blksith0 likes this.
  22. blksith0

    blksith0 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks guys, that worked great. You are the best.
     

Share This Page

Loading...