Getting replacement Eris, root questions


Last Updated:

  1. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    So my Eris decided to stop ringing a few days ago and Verizon is sending me a replacement. Instead of jumping to 2.1 I decided I wanna root it so i can get rid of stupid stock apps like stocks, footprints etc and play around a bit. I already have the sdk and pretty much know how to go about with the root process.

    My question is, what is the simplest ROM(s) or method of having the following:
    Google Maps with navigation
    JIT compiler
    Overclock

    i don't really care for Sense cause it pretty slow. Some of the other apps I have I'm not sure if they require 2.1 or not but big deal.

    thanx AF
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    12
    For what you want, I would suggest Grdlock's Vanilla1.0. I used it for 3 weeks w/ out any problems and had it overclocked using the patch over on XDA. Literally no bugs with this ROM and maps and navi worked flawlessly.
     
  3. jonathanphx1

    jonathanphx1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    I would not recommend grdlocks vanilla rom, the 911 function does not work on it. I even think the download link has been disabled untill he fixes it.

    [ROM] VanillaDroid v1.0 - xda-developers
     
  4. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    Hi JrzDroid,

    Something to consider in your search for the ROM that is you:

    - If you OC, by comparison to what you are used to, your lil' Eris will seem snappy even with Sense.

    - I'm not sure if the same can be said for JIT - it will give you a small benefit, but not as dramatic as OC'ing. (But judging from the traffic on XDA, it comes with it's own set of problems). I'm not an expert here, so take that with a grain of salt. I'd love to be corrected if folks think that JIT is (currently) trouble-free.

    - A rom without Sense will be even snappier, but you might not care for the phone without some of the HTC app integration. That's a personal preference thing, and depends on what you've gotten used to, so it's hard to predict whether it applies to you.

    - Give Ivanmj's Official_1.0_OC a look - everything just works. It's not really sexy, and it still has Sense on there, but Stocks and Tweeter (or whatever it was called) don't run automatically, and it seems to use far less memory than HTC's 1.5 releases did. When I run it "trimmed down" about the way I ran 1.5, it seems like there is consistently 20-25 Mb more ram available, and that probably also contributes to the perception of "snappiness".

    Good Luck, and enjoy.

    eu1
     
  5. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    you guys are awesome
     
  6. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    there are also two aosp roms out right now, 100% vanilla.
    OC and JIT

    whitewidow and cyanoeris
     
  7. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    i'll have to look into them
    are they listed in Acidbaths page?
     
  8. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    no, 3.1 is being hosted in conaps folder on grdlocks site.

    looks like th mods deleted my thread.

    yes i know about the google apps issue, im working on it. removing the link is all that was necessary. a polite PM would have been nice too.
     
  9. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    12
    Whoops, did not realize this. Glad I'm not running it anymore. Thanks for the heads up1
     
  10. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    I am enjoying Whitewidow 3.1, and it is quite snappy. I don't know much about JIT, but I haven't had any FC's or anything of the sort.
     
  11. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    looks like I'm gonna try the WhiteWidow 3.1 ROM.
    I can get google nav with it right?
     
  12. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    I don't think so.... WhiteWidow apparently is/was a Cyanogen-based ROM, who Google went after because it included Google's core apps and they don't allow this. Whether you can download them manually or not, I don't know. I think the thread for "Ic3" has a link to Google's apps... Problem I see is they're hosted at a megaupload type site, which I'm sure isn't allowed either !
     
  13. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    Try Sense-Able. It's OC'd to 710mhz, which makes Sense run real nice. It also includes the Google apps. Not sure about the JIT Compiler though. It has no stocks, Footprints, Amazon MP3, and I'm sure other "standard" apps.
     
  14. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    21
    you can download them all manually. white widow is the shit. testing 4.0 right now. runs smooth. still a couple bugs causing random reboots, but all in all this is one of my fav roms.
     
  15. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759

    LOL - random reboots are the shit. :)

    j/k.

    Goes to show you, though how different users' preferences can be. I might play with a ROM to see what it's got, but if it randomly reboots, no way would I be using it as my day-to-day phone software.
     
  16. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    he is testing beta 4.0.

    dont worry, they will be fixed before its released.
    3.1 is stable though.
     
  17. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    So right now its between Sense-able and White Widow.
    I just wanna make sure I can get Google Nav, seeing as how its not 2.1.

    this is my post #666!!!
     
  18. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    She-devil!

    Try 'em both! It's not like you're locked into one or the other forever! That's the great thing about Nandroid/BART backups - if you come back to something you've backed up because you didn't like the new ROM, you don't have to start all over as if you did a factory reset - just pick up where you left off.

    'course, you do have to start from square one with every rom that is new to you.

    enjoy!
     
  19. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    "not 2.1" ? What do you mean ? Google Navigator is in Sense-Able and works.
     
  20. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    I'm using Whitewidow 3.1. Yes, it has Google Nav. and works fine. I do not get random reboots. Like eu1 said, try different ROMs and just do a backup of each one when you get it set up. You may prefer Sense. I thought that I wouldn't want to give up Sense, but I've found that I absolutely love facets of vanilla, especially the dialer. HATED the Sense dialer.
     
  21. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    just to let you know, ill be adding a skinned dialer that looks like the sense dialer in the full release.

    and thanks to darchstar im working on building my own kernel :D
     
  22. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    Oh, I'm sure he gives a warm "You're welcome" :p
     
  23. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    actually he has. darchstar is a nice guy, very helpful. all this drama came as a result of framework getting involved in shit he didnt understand :/
     
  24. JrzDroid

    JrzDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    308
    well the new Eris is here. I'm using the sticky [GUIDE] to root and get the recovery image. I'm currently updating the available packages in the SDK.exe file
     
  25. cornbreadfarts

    cornbreadfarts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    21
    check out the eris master application sticky too. pretty much does the whole rooting process for you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...