Getting Rid Of Sense In 2.1


Last Updated:

  1. Meathead

    Meathead New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys.

    Been lurking in here a while now but I finally have a question to ask!

    I downloaded the 2.1 OTA update for my Hero this morning.

    All seems to be working good and well. Its ironed out some issues that I had with notifications etc.

    Anyway the problem I have now is that I dont have the option to clear defaults in the HTC Sense UI app management screen.

    It just seems to have gone. Sense is ok but I much prefer to use the Android version of the phone.

    Anybody able to help? Anything I can download etc. to solve my problem?

    The problem is across quite a few apps. I used to be able to set my phone to use Handcent to manage my texts but now it wants to use Handcent & the HTC Messages app.

    Cheers in advance guys.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rube8514

    Rube8514 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    17


    i 2nd this.
     
  3. Meathead

    Meathead New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im not going mad then!

    I cant see why it wont work seeing as Sense is effectively just a skin over the top. It should be able to turn off like before.
     
  4. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Its still in the custom builds of 2.1 even the GSM one, it makes no sense (har har) to take it out, clearing this data is a performance related option, try emailing HTC, and see what response you get
     
  5. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,895
    How about installing a home screen replacement app? That should give you the option to pick again.

    Install LauncherPro beta or ADW launcher or whatever from the market, and the option will show up again. Then you can uninstall the new one.

    (Although LauncherPro is pretty good, you should give it a try).
     
    nedamdam likes this.
  6. nedamdam

    nedamdam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    27
    Xyro, it wont give you the stock Android home screen back . You will be able to choose from the installed one like launcher pro and htc sense.

    The stock Android home isnt there ... :( . (And hero is laaaaaaaaging sooo much now ... though I complained in another thread, but this might be connected)
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,895
    Yeah, I saw your post in the other topic. It seems they haven't even included the default android home app. There might be ways to download it and install it manually, but I couldn't find the app with a google search.

    Still, I really think you should try LauncherPro. I ran a custom firmware without HTC sense for a while, and it was the best of the bunch. ADW Launcher and Helix Launcher are other ones I know of too. All of those are like the normal android launcher but with a few tweaks.

    Then there are apps like openhome, but those aren't anything like the default home app.
     
  8. robogo

    robogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    16
    I second the opinion on LauncherPro. Works so much better and hilariously faster on 2.1 than Sense UI.

    Don't install it if you're too used to the Sense UI and like the widgets, switches, yada yada yada... :D I'm impressed with LauncherPro and I'm even considering to permanently (gasp!) move on to it :D

    It's just that there aren't any nice clocks or calendar widgets to replace HTC's :(
     
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,895
    Actually, you can replicate the HTC flip clock with 'Weather & Toggle Widgets' and one of their themes. It is a paid app though, unfortunately.
     
  10. Meathead

    Meathead New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers guys.

    I have tried out both programs.

    I like bits about both of them. I need to have a proper sit down and customise both too my liking.
     
  11. Haiz

    Haiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    Try this, go to Settings, scroll until you reach the Programs icon and click on it.

    The next window will bring up four options, choose Manage progs, search for HTC Sense. After you have found it, just click on it and then choose Clear to defaults, then Force stop the application. A small window will appear on your screen with two options HTC Sense and Launcher. Choose Launcher and your phone will automatically revert to Android's basic user interface.
     
  12. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,895
    It seems that the OTA update is coming without the stock launcher installed. So you can't get that menu up unless you install a 3rd party launcher.
     
  13. Haiz

    Haiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hmm seems the Hero 2.1 differs a bit to other 2.1 roms then
     

Share This Page

Loading...