Getting "Unknown Sources"?Support


Last Updated:

  1. SuperNinja

    SuperNinja Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read some forums on trying to get this. One said to update the phone to version 2.2 and the other said the phone is not capable of installing non-market apps. Help! :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. tpbklake

    tpbklake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    46
    Once you update to the official AT&T Froyo update, then your phone will be in a position to receive a quiet OTA from AT&T that enables "Unknown Sources" option.

    The other option is to upgrade to Froyo 2.2 and then run the AlphaRevX to gain S-OFF on your phone so you can root it and install a custom ROM that has the "Unknown Sources" enables, such as CM7, Liberated Aria 2.2, etc.
     
  3. SuperNinja

    SuperNinja Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Noob Question... How do I do this? :p
     
  4. SuperNinja

    SuperNinja Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nvm that. I already updated to 2.2 yesterday and whats a quiet OTA from AT&T.
     
  5. tpbklake

    tpbklake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    46
    A quiet OTA is sent to your phone and run automatically. You don't need to do anything. Just keeping checking and one day the 'Unknown Sources' checkbox will show up.
     
  6. SuperNinja

    SuperNinja Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My friend said I need a data plan with AT&T which I don't for them to send me stuff. I am running on Wireless connection for internet. Is his advice correct?
     
  7. tpbklake

    tpbklake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    46
    Yes, if you are not using a AT&T data connection then you probably won't get the silent OTA update.
     

Share This Page

Loading...