1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Gingerbread update


Last Updated:

  1. benwalburn

    benwalburn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    68
    I recently heard that gingerbread is hitting the epic, so i need to know how to return to stock without wiping. All i changed was the kernel and added su, of course. Is it possible to remove su and return to stock kernel without resetting everything?
     

    Advertisement
  2. icecold

    icecold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    75
    Did you do a nandroid backup before flashing a new kernel? If so, then you could always revert, although you'd lose everything past that point.

    I don't know of any easy way, minus using ODIN to flash back to stock (but that doesn't mean there isn't a stock kernel out there).

    I would say just wait until the official GB update hits, and then look on XDA for a Stock GB ROM to update to. You will still, most likely, have to do a data wipe, but at least you could use Ti Backup or MyBackup Root to restore your information.
     
  3. nstg8r

    nstg8r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    20
    I was under the impression that a nandroid backup doesn't backup the kernel, at least not under cw 2.5.
     
  4. icecold

    icecold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    75
    A nandroid backup is an exact image of your phone at that time... So everything on your phone is backed up, including ROM, kernel, apps, texts, etc... So basically, if you get into trouble with flashing ROMs, kernels, etc, all you have to do is restore the backup. You'll be back to a fully functioning setup.
     
  5. Danny1st

    Danny1st Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I am rooted with super user and have the epic on stock, can I still update ota to GB?
     
  6. icecold

    icecold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    75
    I think you would need to unroot in order to do the update... Also, if I remember correctly, you will need to have all stock apps as well.

    Someone correct me if I am mistaken...
     
  7. rounsy222

    rounsy222 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    69

    I believe all you need is all you stock apps. Either way there is always odin to go back to stock.
     
  8. Danny1st

    Danny1st Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0

    I believe I have heard that before... But it's been a while. Thanks for the reminder! Looks like I'll have to odine.
     
  9. nstg8r

    nstg8r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    20
    Even better question, will I be able to NOT update to GB when it comes out? When I had my Epic, the update to Froyo was forced and it screwed up my phone. Right now, I have my phone working exactly the way I want it and I don't want Sprint/Samsung screwing it up.
     
  10. icecold

    icecold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    75
    Most of the ROMs should have updates disabled.
     
  11. nstg8r

    nstg8r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    20
    not using a rom, just a rooted kernel (twilightzone)
     
  12. icecold

    icecold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    75
    In that case, you have several options...

    1) Change the system/build.prop file so it shows the latest update information.
    2) Use Titanium Backup to freeze SystemUpdater.apk
    3) Or just uninstall the SystemUpdater.apk
    4) Flash the GB modem once it is available (may have to wipe the Dalvik cache)
     
  13. nstg8r

    nstg8r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    20
    I'll choose option 2. Will that have any unintended consequences?
     
  14. icecold

    icecold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    75
    I did some digging around, and it may or may not solve your problem. You may still get the update popup, and a force close if you go to update... I would either do 3 or 4.
     
  15. benwalburn

    benwalburn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    68
    Thank you. I didn't do a nandroid backup since i'm stock besides the kernel. I do have odin ready. I'll use it when i need to.
     

Share This Page

Loading...