Gmail app TERRIBLE!


Last Updated:

  1. deftdrummer

    deftdrummer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    11
    Believe me when I say that I never thought in a million years it would be possible to have a smartphone with a worse mail app than the iphone. Then the Droid came. I mean come on! We can't save pictures, can't batch delete, hell we can't even click most links! Maybe I'm venting a little, but It's kind of embarassing when your a company's web apps work better than their natively installed apps that come pre-installed on a phone whose OS you developed! Sheesh!
     

    Advertisement
  2. joshi3joshi

    joshi3joshi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    um just to let you know, you CAN do batch delete, you can save pictures, and you can click on links..ive done all of them before on my droid in the gmail app. btw if u cant batch delete, maybe u have to enable it in the settings.
     
  3. Droidood

    Droidood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    1
    User error.
     
  4. krazykrivda

    krazykrivda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    16
    I looked at this and was baffled. Guess he's talking about a "different" droid. Mine does all these, and more!

    After all.... DROID DOES :cool:
     
  5. bthoward

    bthoward Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    He works for palm or was it sprint... Oh well both have the same story... When you're circling the drain you tend to grasp at whatever straws you can find, true or not.
     
  6. DroidRoid

    DroidRoid Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am with you guys on everything, but clicking on links.

    The links I get are not enabled. I.E. I cannot click on them:confused:

    The email notifications for this thread will have links, but will not be enabled?

    I thought it was a bug that would be fixed in the Dec. 11th load, but maybe i am missing something in the setup?

    Is it something you have to setup on the server?

    I have scoured the setup, but cannot find a setting for this?
     
  7. Wakey

    Wakey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    He might have a bad phone because he was complaining about stuff nobody else was experiencing in the picture thread.
     
  8. rawness

    rawness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    21
    I'd take it to the VZW, cuz I have zero problems clicking links.
     
  9. pastafarian

    pastafarian P√Ętes avec votre foie Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    4,625
    Besides the obvious that you're in no way helpful, that's just plain rude.

    I guess when you're used to grossly overpaying for service, you tend to blather on whether it's useful or not. (< see how that works?)
     
  10. rmcnamara

    rmcnamara Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the same problem with links in emails. I got an email from a foum i visit with a link to a thread. It is not clickable. if i go to mail.google.com in the browser the link shows up fine and i can click on it
     
  11. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    I see lots of people saying they can do all these things, but if the OP really can't see or figure out how, none of this is any help, except possibly to indicate that his Droid is defective in some way.

    Batch Delete - in the main list of conversations in Gmail there are check boxes on the left side. Start checking them, and three choices will appear at the bottom of the screen - Archive, Labels and Delete. Pick one. Or, press the menu button for more options.

    Can't Save Pictures - When I get an email with a JPG attached, I get a Download and a Preview button right next to the attachment. Do you not get these? Or is that not the problem?

    Can't even click most links - implies that SOME links are clickable. I haven't experienced this problem. Can you be more specific?
     
  12. stevenfstein

    stevenfstein Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Batch Delete - I find that I can select all that I want to delete with the checkbox and hit delete but I find no way to go into the delete folder and do a 'select all" "delete". Have to click on them one by one again and select delete. After a few days I could have 50 or 60 of them there and it is a PITA to have to select them again.

    Regards.... Steve
     
  13. MileHighAko

    MileHighAko Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    The web version of gmail works much better, IMO, on Android.
     
  14. Mapex

    Mapex Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hopefully we can get multitouch on this as soon as the source is released. I prefer the BB Storm's way of batch operations where you select the first item and the last item, as if you were doing a click followed by a SHIFT+click on a computer, to select many items at once.
     
  15. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72
    First, it's not a folder. It's a label. It's labeled for deletion. After 30 days, gmail automatically gets rid of them altogether. You don't have to pull up the delete label and select them all again to delete them, you can just wait another 29 days and they'll go on their own.
     
  16. rawness

    rawness Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    21
    Can't upload, though.
     
  17. alamoe

    alamoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    21
    just tested this...if the pic in the email is just copy/pasted it'll just show up as text. when i sent myself a pic as an actual attachment i get the full pic in the email and 2 buttons (Download + Preview). Links worked fine but i used the *link* button and didn't just copy/paste a link when sending. Hope this helps
     
  18. lrossnm

    lrossnm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can these same actions be done with a Hotmail account ? I have three POP accounts going there and don't want to switch to Gmail.
     
  19. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72
    Don't get an android phone then. Get a WinMO device.
     
  20. krazykrivda

    krazykrivda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    16
    Somewhat a pain, but since gmail is slow via retrieving from servers, I've found that if I open my given email accounts and set them to forward everything to gmail (and leave a message on the server), the email will be pushed almost immediately onto my phone w/o fail. This way you avoid gmail having ALL of your accounts, I just simply apply a label by filtering the incoming mail according to the "To:" field to sort individual accounts. This way i get everything immediately, sorted, and it won't effect the mail at a later time when I go to retrieve it from my PC using outlook.

    An additional step i took, I also forward my gmail account to my main email account, so when I retrieve from server on PC i also get my gmail without actually having to set up additional retrieval protocols.

    NOTE: the key is to forward AND leave message on server, otherwise you may lose mail.
     
  21. lrossnm

    lrossnm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would my outgoing mail then have a Gmail return address? I would still like to have my Hotmail address shown. I have used it for years.

    Thanks for the reply s.
     
  22. krazykrivda

    krazykrivda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    16
    You will have to set up (via gmail) outgoing mail. Open gmail from PC and go to "accounts and import" set up your "send mail as" to use ur hotmail server. Then set as default.

    I'm not sure if this will carry over to your phone. I've been unable to test because when I send mail to myself it only says me. I do have a feeling that it may still be using gmail though. :-\

    EDIT: It does work if you do this! :)
     
  23. krazykrivda

    krazykrivda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    16
    1 more thing. You are able to edit the "reply to" for your gmail account. Same way you add hotmail, click "edit info" for your gmail and insert your reply to field accordingly. This should help, that if in any case for some reason u do send mail via gmail, it the reply to will be your hotmail anyway!
     
  24. alamoe

    alamoe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    21
    +1 you're really not getting the full benefits of android unless you use as many of the google services as possible
     
  25. lrossnm

    lrossnm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0


    Thanks again. Great info.
     

Share This Page

Loading...