Gmail image fixed, Swype no go.General


Last Updated:

  1. tarponbeach

    tarponbeach Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    68
    All images are displaying correctly on my Incredible. Nice surprise.

    Bummed that Swype will not run. Returns screen size error.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jarpee

    Jarpee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sucks!!!!!
     
  3. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Which version of Swype are you using?
     
  4. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
  5. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    here's a link from an individual from the eris forums that has been creating themed swype apps. he did one for the n1 that ran fine and said this has been created to work for the DInc. If you want to try it, go for it. I don't have my phone yet, so I haven't tried it. I will be putting on in a couple days, and I can let everyone know how it works.

    com.swype.android.inputmethod.apk
     
    Rubik76 and NKT like this.
  6. Jarpee

    Jarpee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    2
    should you DL swype straight from the phone or do it on the comp and put it on the sd card and run it? I dont have my incredible yet but have the sd card.
     
  7. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Doesn't matter. Just download the .apk. Then when you get your Incredible, install Astro File Manager. Then just browse to your SD card and install the Swype .apk.
     
  8. Jarpee

    Jarpee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    2
  9. Rubik76

    Rubik76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    158
    Thanks, pathetic as it is, I might stay with my Eris if I can't get Swype to work on the Inc.

    I have the .apk for "Swype Lite", but it's for the Eris so I am guessing it'll throw the same error.
     
  10. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    You can try just adding the .apk file extension.
     
  11. LancerzEvo

    LancerzEvo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    7
    If i have the official swype beta file, will that work on the incredible?
     
  12. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Depends on what screen resolution it was built for. That's why there's several version floating around.
     
  13. NYC Coyote

    NYC Coyote Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    68
    When I get mine I'll try both the beta....but also the beta that was modded for the Moto Droid (which works...my brother in law has it)
     
  14. tarponbeach

    tarponbeach Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    68
  15. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
  16. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
  17. darkfiber

    darkfiber Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    12
    That one works, I typed this message with it.
     
  18. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Nice, thank you for trying it out!
     
  19. Jarpee

    Jarpee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    2
    Worked without any problems?
     
  20. Jakaro

    Jakaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    I can't wait to use Swype, looks like a lot of fun..
     
  21. darkfiber

    darkfiber Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    12
    Looks like it. I actually downloaded the link straight from the phone browser. It has good word detection although double letters mess with my head. No functionality problems that i can see.
     
    NKT likes this.
  22. Mahalo

    Mahalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    216
    Thanks for testing it out! How did you select to use swype as your keyboard? I really really missed it and can't wait to use it again. That was the only think I was missing!
     
  23. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Here's how you setup Swype to be your default keyboard:

    After installing the Swype .apk got to Menu -> Settings -> Language & Keyboard. Check Swype.

    Now open a new text message. Press and hold the text input box. A window will pop up and select Input Method. Choose Swype.

    That's all it takes :cool:
     
    Mahalo, HTCLUVR and Valkryn like this.
  24. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    Fantastic. I'm glad we know we know we can get it for the DInc. That was one thing I was worried about as I have become very used to using it. Thanks to those that have tested and verified.
     
  25. tarponbeach

    tarponbeach Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    68

Share This Page

Loading...