• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Gmail is breaking down my sent emails - Help!

macrae

Lurker
May 27, 2010
Hi All! I am a newbie and somewhat technologically challenged...:eek:

I just switched from a G1 to a Desire a little over 24 hours ago and the same issue I had with my G1 email, I'm now having with the brand-stinking new Desire!

T-mobile store and technical dept don't have any answers for me as they have never heard of my problem. Perhaps someone here has a solution?

Often, when I send an email from my mac, and sometimes from the phone, the recipient receives just the one, normal, email. However, usually when I get a response, my gmail (usually only on the mobile) breaks it down 2, 3, 4 and I've seen longer emails broken down over 15 times. As I'm not clear if this makes sense, as an example:

(me) Hey Sam, do you want to go to the cinema Friday night?
(Sam) Coolio, let's meet at Cafe Nero.

When it breaks down on my end, it then looks like this:

(me) Hey
(me) Hey Sam,
(me) do you want
(me) Hey Sam, do you want to

...well, you get the picture.

It's flipping annoying me even more so as the local Apple store, T-Mobile (2 location), T-Mobile tech support have never seen this and I can't seem to google it the right way to see if anyone else in the world has had this happen to them and what the solution was.

Any takers as to how to solve this problem so the beautiful new phone doesn't get stomped on and/or I change email servers?

Many thanks in advance,
Kelley

(and if for the love of all good things someone has an answer sooner rather than later, don't think I'm being rude when I don't respond right away in gratitude...off for a long weekend)

OK, I think I know what you are saying, but again, I'm not technical so bear with me!

My gmail account says IMAP is enabled but I'm not sure I ever configured it for my macbook pro (snow leopard), I just followed the set-up procedure automatically.