Gmail n Such

Last Updated:

1. grosser

grosser Active Member This Topic's Starter

Hello all,

I am new to the Android Universe (Picked up my Sprint HTC Hero yesterday)

I have a question about google accounts and email sync.

1st, On my previous phone (Windows Mobile) I had my gmail account set up so that my email is "pushed" to my phone. I thought that the android phones were automatically set up to do that, or do I have to do something to get this to work. I only ask because it seems to take a while to receive emails on my phone.

2nd, Before I got the phone I was reading up on the features, and a lot of the posts I read made it seem like I could access my google reader section, saved maps, sync bookmarks, and anything else I had with my google account. But, I can't seem to figure out how to do this. The most I have figured out on the maps is latitude, and nothing else with reader, bookmarks, etc.

If you can help, or maybe tell me where to go to get the help I would be very grateful.

Thank you,
    Gary

Advertisement
  2. Little Darwin

Little Darwin Well-Known Member

I have only had mine for two weeks...

For Gmail, the mail will be pushed if you use the Gmail app, but not the Email app.

There is a Google Maps application, along with other apps that may give you what you want, but not one huge application that does it all..

3. regression

regression Well-Known Member

For Google Maps, right now we cannot access our saved maps on the phone. That feature is available with a later version of Google Maps that doesn't run on Android 1.5. So in the future (I hope) we can access that. That is one thing I really miss from my Windows Mobile version of Google Maps.

For Reader, Google doesn't have an app for that. There are some 3rd party apps that give you access to your Reader data. I have tried a couple but ended up uninstalling them. I just go to Google Reader's mobile webpage.