GmailGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Solidis

    Solidis Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey i would like to know is there a way i can change the Gmail account on my girlfriends Eris she using a random one she created the first day she bought it.. she wants to use her personal 1 on the phone.. Is there a way i can help her make the changes.
     

    Advertisement
  2. bigdroid

    bigdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7,112
    Likes Received:
    132

    You can change the default gmail account associated with your Eris by going to Settings>Applications>Manage Applications>Google Apps and hitting the 'Clear data' button. I'd also recommend clearing data on the Gmail app that appears above it as well.
     
  3. RozzaC

    RozzaC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    10
    I managed to change the Gmail account on my G1 by doing the following:

    Go to:

    Settings --> Applications --> Manage Applications

    Clear Data for Google Mail, Google Mail Storage and Settings

    Restart phone and it should ask you to enter your Google Email account details.

    If it doesn't....go into Contacts and hit "Menu" and hit "Edit Sync Groups" and that should force it to come up...

    A reminder...
    I'm using a G1 so I'm not sure it will be the same for the Eris...

    ---EDIT---

    I can't remember if I cleared Google Apps data as well....
    I might have done.. o_O
     
  4. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Can anyone confirm that either of these methods worked? My sister has a Droid Eris, and when the VZW sales person was showing her how to use the phone he told her she had to make a new Gmail account since her current one "wasn't connecting to the phone" :confused:

    So now she uses the Mail app for her "real" Gmail account, while the "fake" Gmail account sits inactive in the background in the Gmail app, without her Gmail contacts/etc.

    I'd love to be able to fix this for her without resetting the entire system...
     
  5. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm sorry if this sounds really obvious and it's The first thing you tried, but have you tried MENU, ACCOUNTS N SYNC? My gmail account is right there in the list, waiting to be managed.
     
  6. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Where should I try looking for that MENU? On the home screen, or in the Gmail app?

    I have very limited experience with Android thus far (only ~1 week) but all of the system that I've gotten used to is on my Incredible which seems to have a bit more customization options than I was finding on her Eris...

    It seems like on my Incredible I can go to the main home screen Menu/Settings and get to the initial setup page again. In fact, there's a "setup" app that came with the Incredible which lets me edit all that good stuff (Gmail account/etc).

    I don't have her phone with me right now, but I'll get a chance to poke around at it later this afternoon/evening.

    Thanks for the suggestion!
     
  7. colornshape

    colornshape Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    9
    The home screen. ANd I think Eris has a setup program, but it's hidden. Good luck.
     
  8. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thanks, I think I'll need it ;)
     
  9. Cajun83

    Cajun83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    28
    From Home Screen go Menu>Settings> Accounts and Sync>Google>Remove Account.

    Then like BigDroid Stated... go Settings>Applications>Manage Applications>Google Apps>Clear Data then Settings>Applications>Manage Applications>Gmail>Clear Data.

    Then you can go back to the accounts and sync and hit Add Account>Google... finish up with the process there and you should be good to go.

    It's so easy... a caveman can do it. :D
     
    elwray likes this.
  10. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Okay! I'm feeling more confident now! Hopefully I'll be able to do this in about an hour.
     
  11. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well found the first problem.. None of those menus were there.. Turns out there was an upgrade available which made the phone look a lot more like mine (2.1?)

    then I was able to find the manage account page.

    but when I tried to delete the fake gmail account that the phone was set up with it said I have to factory reset the device and it cant just be deleted.

    This isn't a huge issue but... Will all of her phone contacts be delete? Is there a clever way to back these up on the eris?

    I'll get to this tonight as soon as I can make sure im not losing all her contact s.

    Thanks for all the help so far I really appreciate it!
     
  12. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,607
    Likes Received:
    411
    If they are gmail contacts then they will reappear after the reset. Phone contacts won't. There are many threads here about this issue.
     
  13. CaptainTwinkie

    CaptainTwinkie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    17
    You can change it in 2.1 by going to the setup app, there it will run through the same first questions it normally asks when you setup the phone.
     
  14. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ended up just exporting the contacts to the SD card in the People window (Menu-Import/Export to SD Card) then doing a reset of the phone, and setting it up properly. Then imported all the contacts via the same menu option.

    That upgrade had some significant changes; it looks and interacts a lot nicer now.
     
  15. Cajun83

    Cajun83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    28
    The instructions I gave you are for 2.1 OTA... it should look the same. She may be running 1.5?
     
  16. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well I believe it upgraded TO 2.1, I'm not sure what from (could it have been sitting in the VZW store with 1.5 on it?)
     
  17. Cajun83

    Cajun83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    28
    Could have... If it was 2.1 it should have the same folders and you should be able to follow the same path to the settings...
     
  18. elwray

    elwray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    21
    It definitely wasn't 2.1.

    It had slightly different menus, and none of them had icons/colors. Even the market was very plain and boring.
     

Share This Page

Loading...