• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Google backup tangle

RuthB

Lurker
Jan 3, 2013
Hi
I'm not very technical so please bear with me!
When I got my S3, my husband kindly shared his contacts with me, so I could get started, using his Google account. That worked really well.
Since then, I've been changing, deleting and adding new contacts and I'm frightened that if I sync the phone, he'll lose data he needs.
So, I've created my own Google account, but I just can't manage to successfully backup the data to it - perhaps because his account is still on the phone.
When I try to delete his account from the list of accounts, the phone warns me that I'll lose all my contacts. But equally, I'm worried about losing my phone without having backed it up.
I tried Kies but gave up in frustration - it's way too unfriendly :(.
Please can someone help me?
My S3 tells me it's running Android version 4.1.2, if that helps.
Thanks,
Ruth

Hi
I'm not very technical so please bear with me!
When I got my S3, my husband kindly shared his contacts with me, so I could get started, using his Google account. That worked really well.
Since then, I've been changing, deleting and adding new contacts and I'm frightened that if I sync the phone, he'll lose data he needs.
So, I've created my own Google account, but I just can't manage to successfully backup the data to it - perhaps because his account is still on the phone.
When I try to delete his account from the list of accounts, the phone warns me that I'll lose all my contacts. But equally, I'm worried about losing my phone without having backed it up.
I tried Kies but gave up in frustration - it's way too unfriendly :(.
Please can someone help me?
My S3 tells me it's running Android version 4.1.2, if that helps.
Thanks,
Ruth

Takes a bit of time but maybe write down the contacts?