Google Buzz on the Hero???


Last Updated:

  1. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a coworker with an Iphone and one with a Droid and both can go to buzz.google.com but I cant on the Hero? I am thinking it has something to do with HTC web browser but not sure?

    Is there a way I can get the default browser on the Hero?
    Or just go to buzz.google.com??
     

    Advertisement
  2. mattcoz

    mattcoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm having the same problem, won't work in either the HTC browser or Dolphin.
     
  3. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    they haven't rolled buzz out to all google accounts yet..
     
  4. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    from the looks of it looks like its another one of those 2.0 android things we cant get yet
     
  5. shep913

    shep913 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was able to go to that site earlier...weird.
     
  6. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    @shep913 Did you just type in buzz.google.com ?
     
  7. RocknRolla

    RocknRolla New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    its another 2.0+ feature, as always we will have to wait for 2.1 until we get to play with these new apps.
     
  8. mattcoz

    mattcoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    The maps layer is, because it's part of Maps 4.0 which is only available to 1.6+. We're just talking about the web app though, which should have nothing to do with the version of Android.
     
  9. shep913

    shep913 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah Chaos, just typed buzz.google.com into the standard browser. It brings up a supported devices information page. Says you need Maps 4.0+, and Android 2.0+. I'm running MoDaCo ROM, maybe that's why it let me get to the page?
     
  10. rlundeen

    rlundeen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup. Buzz is only available on Android if you have the Mapps app version 4.0 and 2.0 of Android. Can not even get the standard maps.google.com to show the buzz layer. and buzz.google.com just shows supported deivces. Very "creepy" of Google to do that.

    Why isn't' maps 4 available for 1.5?
     
  11. Alcaron

    Alcaron Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    God dammit...
     
  12. flammenwurfer

    flammenwurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    4
    Because supposedly soon there won't be any devices running 1.5 anymore so it would be a waste of time to release it for 1.5.

    The better question is why don't we have 2.1 on the Hero yet? I just wish they'd give us a month instead of 1st half of 2010.
     
  13. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks like we just wait for 2.1 to drop for the Hero!
     
  14. jasnmb

    jasnmb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    9
    I fixed your quote. ;) I got the maps update on my 1.6 phone, but buzz.google.com just takes me to a supported devices page (as someone already mentioned).

    WHAT THE HECK, GOOGLE!?
     
  15. gnarlyDUCK

    gnarlyDUCK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    8
    ::patiently waiting:: :cool:
     
  16. yenoom

    yenoom New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can use latitude from within Google Maps on HTC Hero (1.5) to post updates, but not to view/browse others (or verify my post !). Holy moly - come on HTC give us Android 2+

    Joe
     
  17. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Oh no! Not another 2.1 thread! sigh
     
  18. Alcaron

    Alcaron Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    These comments are even more tedious than the constant "when!" threads.

    Seriously, I think given the fact Google failed SO hard in releasing SUCH a consistent steam of apps SO soon after the Hero came out that didn't work with it (and a LOT of other even newer phones) I think it's understandable why people are so antsy.

    I don't see what makes you more clever for echoing the constant cry of "oh brother" than they are for echoing their interest.

    Did you just have nothing better to do?
     
  19. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    As more and more apps wont work with Android 1.anything the more people will wont 2.anything and the more you will hear about it.
     
  20. MrMattux

    MrMattux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. I've been frustrated all day. Actually got excited about Buzz thinking having an Android device would mean it would work perfectly for me. Guess not.
     
  21. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Sorry, got caught up in the crowd, I am not usualy like this. :eek:
     
  22. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    So a good question is!!

    Will there be an app for that?? (For Android 1.5/1.6) :)
     
  23. tarheelalum

    tarheelalum Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very true. Don't sell it, if you are not going to service it.
     
  24. chaos67731

    chaos67731 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    I want 2.1 on my Hero just as much as the next guy, But you have to think of it this way. When I got my laptop I was not able to go running back asking for Windows 7 a year latter. We all got the Hero with 1.5 and just the fact that they are doing all the work to get us to 2.1. We should be happy with having to wait and not being charged. :)
     
  25. mbell75

    mbell75 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    77
    Well Google wave was an epic fail, guess this is their new project
     

Share This Page

Loading...