google.com wants to know your location (prompt)Support


Last Updated:

  1. Peanutbutter_N_Jelly

    Peanutbutter_N_Jelly Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    I found this post: http://androidforums.com/support-tr...ogle-com-wants-know-your-location-prompt.html
    in the EVO 4G section and I'm having the same issue with my Incredible.

    For the past couple of days every time I go to google.com I receive this prompt

    [​IMG]

    This happens using the native browser or using Dolphin browser. All my location settings are set to allow sites to use my location (in the phone options and all browser options). I get the prompt both when I am logged into google and when I am logged out. I've even checked my google account settings... "save recent locations" is set as ON and "allow use of device location" is set to YES. No matter what combination of options I select within the prompt, it comes back every time I go to google.com
    I've rebooted and even pulled out the battery and nothing changes. GPS on or off has no effect and clearing out my caches hasn't changed it either.
    My phone is stock except for being rooted.

    Anyone have any idea why this started happening and how to fix it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,533
    I believe it was caused by the latest Dolphin HD update yet somehow affects both browsers. I'm rooted and I did a Nand restore to go back to my exact state previous to the update and it went away. Waited for a few days, updated again and the problem returned immediately. It's a real PIA. If anyone has any other theories or workarounds, we're all ears.
     
  3. DroidPower

    DroidPower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    13
    Go to Google, then setting, and choose your options, you can prevent your location from being known, it just make your smart-phone a little dumber.

    The idea of Acquiring location is to help your search of businesses, coffee shops, shopping, any person place or thing you might want to know what's the nearest to your current location.

    I use it all the time... but if it spooks you, just go to setting within the Google internet page/app.
     
  4. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,533
    The problem the OP is talking about is that with our current configuration, we can't acknowledge the popup nag. I use it all the time too but even if we allow location and check the box to remember preference, it pops back up every time we open the browser. Our choice to allow is not "sticking".

    I am running the 7/27 leaked 2.2 with updated radio and Dolphin HD as my default browser as a reference for the OP. Like you, I have the problem now whether using Dolphin or the native browser however.
     
    Peanutbutter_N_Jelly likes this.
  5. DroidPower

    DroidPower Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    13
    Check in Menu...settings... About Phone, and check " Location " in the menu list.
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,533
    They changed it a little in 2.2, it's at Settings > Location, then check "Google Location Services". Got that checked though. I'm almost positive it's due to the update in Dolphin since I can restore to an earlier configuration where I didn't yet have the newest Dolphin update and the problem vanishes. As soon as I update the Dolphin app though, it reappears. Everyone that has this problem seems to be running Dolphin HD and maybe 2.2 but not sure on the last part.

    I may Nand restore again to last week's config until another new Dolphin update comes out. The market listing for it says there's a major update upcoming shortly though and I bet they nix this problem. Hope so anyway.
     
  7. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    I think the prompt is just a cookie, and for security reasons, it expires regularly. As that happens, you will be prompted again.
     
  8. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,067
    Likes Received:
    8,533
    Restored back to the previous version of Dolphin. It's gone again.
     
  9. Peanutbutter_N_Jelly

    Peanutbutter_N_Jelly Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's exactly it. Thanks for clarifying dude.

    If work is slow for me tomorrow, I'm gonna try a Nand restore like iowabowtech suggested.

    Thanks for the help
     
  10. Peanutbutter_N_Jelly

    Peanutbutter_N_Jelly Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Problem solved!
    The last update to Dolphin HD was the cause. I restored to a previous version using Titanium Backup and now I don't get the prompt anymore.

    Props to iowabowtech for hitting the nail on its head and thanks to the rest of you for the suggestions.
     
    manny84 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...