Google Contact SyncSupport


Last Updated:

  1. gaspower

    gaspower Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I just purchased the Fascinate, and have all my numbers and info for them on Google Contact. The Verizon agent downloaded all my contacts, but now when I either add to my phone directly or to my Google Contact online, they do not sync together? Am I missing something on setup that allows the contacts to sync?

    Thanks JR
     

    Advertisement
  2. Fynx

    Fynx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    Same issue here. picked up my samsung today and transitioned everything in my contacts via goggle. Now all of my contacts are in an individual goggle folder.

    I love the hardware but not touch wiz. I should root, strip this crap out and go with a blank clean 2.2 os.

    I have 30 days to try it out.
     
  3. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Sounds good only 2.2 isnt out yet
     
  4. Fynx

    Fynx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yet is the optimal word in that sentence. I'll give the dev's 28 days then i'll return it. Pretty upset with the Bing integration and extra apps.
     
  5. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    I think 28 days is the optimal phrase in your case. Highly debate-able if even the xda guys push it out in the next 28 days
     
  6. jamesnmandy

    jamesnmandy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    34
    thats pretty short sighted.

    root it (you would do this anyways, otherwise do us all a favor and return it), load up ADW Launcher and instantly you get back the google labeled search box

    here's my thing with google search vs. bing

    the first thing that happens when you type something in google search widget is it open the browser and does a google search

    the first thing it does when you type in something in the bing search widget is open the browser and does a bing search

    OR.....wait...it's pretty amazing....hold your breath...you would never have guessed it...YES! you can actually make google your default homepage on your browser and type in your search terms right there, just like you would in the google branded search widget and get this...you get the same exact thing!!...i know, its crazy right!?

    so yeah, dont let the bing name piss you off, do what you were going to do anyways, root it, load ADW or Launcher Pro, you get rid of Touch Wiz, you get back google search widget and you can stop posting ridiculous posts such as the one above and rest easily knowing your phone has the most advanced hardware capabilities of any phone out right now....just look at the early overclocking kernel reports of 1.2Ghz - 1.6Ghz range...the Galaxy S line is just waiting to be unleashed

    :D
     
  7. Fynx

    Fynx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    Seeing as how you have also previous had an android phone, the integration of my Droid Eris with my google account is leaps and bounds better than the Fascinate.

    Do you have any recommendations on syncing google contacts with the Fascinate?
     
  8. indianajonze

    indianajonze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    24
    this thread disturbs me. about to pick a fascinate up tomorrow. google contact sync is a basic and integral feature of the android os. does this phone have issues with this basic task?
     
  9. Fynx

    Fynx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    5
    if your coming from an incredible, my htc droid eris was better integrated with google than my new fascinate. My google contacts show up in both contacts and groups, but my google voice groups are lost (not an issue on my eris). I also sync twitter and facebook contacts and phone lists as well. Facebook sync has some issues, shows no contacts. Twitter works fine.

    I would not consider this a significant upgrade from the Incredible. My wife has it, and the only difference I see would be the screen and sleakness of the phone, fascinate that is.
     
  10. indianajonze

    indianajonze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    24
    no no. imo my incredible is superior to the fascinate and i would NOT make that trade. it's for my wife. she needs a new phone and i want her on an android. she's a real power user though, so the incredible's battery life won't cut it. she went through the other options, x is too big, droid 2 is too thick, etc.

    the fascinate is what she settled on
     
  11. PJnc284

    PJnc284 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    14
    If Bing and the extra apps bother you that much, either root and manual take care of it or return it cause even when the 2.2 update comes, it isn't going to remove the bing defaults or the extra apps.

    As for the OP, no issues with contacts not syncing. When adding a contact manually to the phone, make sure that you choose Google and not Phone. The second option only stores contacts locally on the phone. Next, go into Settings-Accounts & Sync and select your gmail account at the bottom. Make sure Sync Contacts is checked. Lastly go into Contacts, hit the menu button and choose Display Options and select the Gmail account. Make sure that the desire groups are checked.
     
  12. johnfb

    johnfb New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Google Contact Groups are not transferring to the fascinate, I have my Gmail acct sysc and groups checked in my Gmail acct as you suggest. When I choose groups from the top contacts menu, my Gmail account is seen as an individual group (showing all my contacts when I select that group) with what seems as the phones default groups (family, work....) with no contacts also showing. Not sure what else to do?
     
  13. SRT8

    SRT8 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Verizon Store transferred all my wife's contacts as gmail contacts instead of phone contacts (phone contacts give increased local control of moving them to family/friends/work groups on the fly). Each option has some advantages/disadvantages - the cool thing about the gmail option is that you can log into your gmail account without your phone, and look at your contacts info. I noticed other people were having the same dilemma -the gmail contacts are fixed as such...and I figured out how to fix this.

    All you have to do is go to contacts, press your menu key, choose <More>, then Export the gmail contacts to the SD Card. Then you can import them back as phone contacts, and delete the gmail duplicates (or just leave them alone, but linked to the phone contacts as a dual backup safety net). Just remember to create future new contacts using the same account type that you will be maintaining/syncing. Enjoy!
     

Share This Page

Loading...