Google Earth available now


Last Updated:

  1. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    14
    Just read that Google Earth is available "only for Nexus One." Then I remembered that DroidMod ROM makes the market think you're running 2.1...


    And yes, it works. :D Really well. In all of it pinchy-zoomy goodness.
     

    Advertisement
  2. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    19
    I have to agree. I grabbed this up earlier today. I've been waiting for them to release this for the Droid:D It has not only pinch zoom, but true multi-touch. You can spin the map with two fingers.

    Here's a link for info:
    http://google-latlong.blogspot.com/
     
  3. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I looked for it and it was not available - but then again, I am running AdamZ's which IIRC portrays itself as 2.0.1....
     
  4. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Sure enough, Firmware Version in Settings is 2.0.1

    Feh.
     
  5. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    you arent missing much its basically google maps with the satellite layer turner on.
     
  6. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I turn those on every time I use the Nav feature anyway....

    So, no birdseye view, no street level view, and no buildings view?
     
  7. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    19
  8. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    the view is slightly different than in maps but as far as I could tell in my limited playing around there is only the normal viewing mode which ever one that is
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Yeah, remembered that - but I am thinking about leaving this and going to ... BB 1.1 / 2.1/0.4 just for giggles.

    I like smoked, but I want as much 2.1 as my phone can handle....

    And if I have to give up widgets for now, then so be it - I really want that launcher 2 to work....and I think it is mainly widgets giving it an issue....
     
  10. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    14
    It is a little gimmicky.
     
  11. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    19
    It has a nice view called "look around" that allows you to view the image in "3D" such as it is in navigation.

    So far I haven't found Street View..
     
  12. drgonzo

    drgonzo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    2
    When google puts 3D buildings with topography into the Android Google Earth it will have an awesome 'check this out' factor when showing friends the Droid. Until then its kinda "mehhh..." The true multi-touch is pretty cool though.
     
  13. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    multi-touch in Earth - that's all I needed to hear.

    I am going shopping for a 2.1 advertised ROM - bbiaf
     
  14. radikal

    radikal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    10
    i have it, its cool, not the best, course i have a droid
     
  15. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    19
  16. BucYouUp68

    BucYouUp68 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    27
    Awesome App!!!!!, Sure Glad i Rooted
     
  17. mihalich

    mihalich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    44
    Nice. I upgraded from sholes 2.0.5 to droidmod 1.0 tonight, for the sole purpose of checking out this app.

    It is nice eye candy but doesn't really buy you anything over maps, except for the topo layer...I don't remember if maps has that, cuz i never have it on if it does.

    Glad I'm on the latest ROM now though.

    - Joe
     
  18. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I upgraded to ADC0.3b-Dark for the same reason - at least now I can have topo in maps *and* Nav....
     
  19. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    downloading Google Earth now from Bugless Beast 1.1

    edit: works so smooth. seems like a lot of data to download to update images so quickly. million times faster than my google maps updates satellite view when you pan.

    Bugless Beast 1.1 still says firmware version 2.0.1 but I searched the market and it was there.
     
  20. socalrailroader

    socalrailroader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    15

    Ditto on that from me, though I'm running BB v.1 .
     
  21. inssane

    inssane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    156
    I have always thought that, lol.
    Just less space on the internal memory with this.
     
  22. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    Have Google phone, gotta have Google Earth. Umm .. yea. :D

    [​IMG]
     
  23. defcon5

    defcon5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I registered just to chime in with a "FWIW" post...haven't even introduced myself yet.

    For all those looking to Google Earth for their Topographical fix:
    The plain ol' Google Maps does indeed have a topo layer - find it under Menu/More/Labs.
    You'll find Topo, Measure and all kinds of other goodies. Your stability may vary, but I've run the topo/terrain layer quite a bit with no problems (even though I live in the 'flat as a pancake' Midwest and there's nothing interesting to see...)
    Not sure if it will work with Nav...I'll test tomorrow.

    Still investigating rooting and I'm looking forward to getting Earth, but wanted to give some love to the stock install of 2.0 Maps. It's still THE flagship app as far as I'm concerned. Now with multi-touch? C'mon...that's killer!

    Now to go introduce myself properly (maybe I'll go gripe about no voice dial via BT first)

    Carry on...
     
  24. banden

    banden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    11
    You don't need to change your ROM, only one number in your 'build.prop' file to access these apps; but be warned this will disable some apps from being visible in the market and from working on your phone in the same way it enables others. (ex. DroidRootHelper will be gone, but DroidRootHelper Pro still works)

    You need to change the 'ro.build.version.sdk=6' to 'ro.build.version.sdk=7' in the build.prop file located in the system folder.

    Alternatively you can bypass all this nonsense and get google earth here: google earth for 2.0.1 and non-rooted users | droid life: a motorola droid blog

    (This version will even work on non-rooted droids.)

    7

     
  25. ccousinsjr

    ccousinsjr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    14
    Speaking of that, can you post some screenshots of that in a new thread. I haven't been able to find any to see what it looks like.
     

Share This Page

Loading...