Google giving up on Nexus 3G issue...


Last Updated:

  1. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15

    Advertisement
  2. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    Just saw this. Kind of negates that stupid article phandroid published about the supposed update.
     
  3. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    i'm sure this will make vzw and sprint customers RUSH to the Nexus now... NOT!!

    i don't understand what they are thinking by admitting to this...
     
  4. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
  5. Enndr

    Enndr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    You know if the people held the damn telecoms to the same standard as phone makers we'd be in a much better place. Telecoms are getting away with MURDER while charging an arm and a leg for it.

    We've been conditioned to just accept it from them and pojnt fingers at everyone else.... I love T-Mo don't get me wrong. I wont leave them for anyone else because their customer service is second to NONE but I do have issue with their crappy backhaul.

    Sitting 50 yards from a newer HSDPA 3G tower and I max at .6-.7 down. That is pretty bad. In real world test I get like .3-.5 in Cincinnati which isn't exactly a huge city but not even close to a small one either... I've been running the Antenna's app and have been mapping out the towers I connect to daily and its SAD. I connect to TONS of tower throughout the day but only come in contact with a handful of 3G ones. I'll post the google earth compatible file if no one believes me.

    They have minimal 3G capable towers serving up data for an ENTIRE city of millions (including close suburbs).

    Like I said it isnt all carrier. It isnt all Google and it isn't all HTC, but when you add it all together weaknesses in one shows greatly in the overall experience and personally in my experience my telecom is the weakest link and I have the exported maps to show for it.
     
  6. smitty24

    smitty24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    3
    hard to ota fix a design flaw...o well...live and learn...im still happy
     
  7. Enndr

    Enndr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am too. Still a groundbreakingly great device.
     
  8. macprv

    macprv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    47
    i guet full bars at my house no metter how i grab the device.. just sayin... do att nexus one owners have the same problem???
     
  9. JAshworth03

    JAshworth03 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you live in Cincinnati and have an unlocked version... Switch to Cincinnati Bell. Cheaper Plans. Way bigger 3G footprint (get 3g nearly everywhere i go) and way better speeds. I regularly get 2.35 down 1.2 up.
     
  10. hipocrazy

    hipocrazy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    6
    Read the other 3G post, specifically where the conversation leads into the topic of carriers.

    Perhaps its not a design flaw at all. Just speculating. ;)
     
  11. Enndr

    Enndr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard this from my Cinci Bell friends as well. I went to lunch with one friend that has one on Cinci Bell and he was flying on 3G. I lose a bar when I grab my phone by he doesn't at all. He cupped the phone with two hands and didn't lose any signal. Mine on the other hand, two bars. I ended up going to Edge when i did it.

    Im not saying its all phone or all carrier but having dense 3G coverage makes a world of difference. Like most Euros and Canadians. US Telecoms suck *#$.

    Annnnnyways about Cinci Bell.... How is your 3G outside of the city though? I travel a decent amount. Places like St. Louis, Chicago, Philly, Louisville, Columbus/Dayton. Do you get tossed into roaming when you leave Cinci or do they have deals with another carrier to pickup signal responsibility outside the 275 loop.

    Also how are they with "family" plans..? My wife and I both use Nexus Ones.
     
  12. sourmilk

    sourmilk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    17
    I always had spotty 3G service in my office on my N1, Sprint Hero and VZW Storm.
    Using the Speedtest.net app on the N1 i would get erratic download readings ranging from 400-1100kbps, while at home i would always get a consistent 1200-1300kbps.
    Then going through the support forums i found this recommendation:
    Fix 3G Issue on Nexus One | Redmond Pie

    Now in my office i'm getting consistent 1200-1600kbps and much lower latency.
    Worth a try if you're having 3g issues.
     
  13. sourmilk

    sourmilk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    17
    deleting double post...
     
  14. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    Very sad development. very sad

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk
     
  15. Viralmind

    Viralmind Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    16
    change your location? really? that's their answer? move? lmao.

    Never thought I would hear that.
     
  16. RogerPodacter

    RogerPodacter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    9
    i'm pretty sure it meant change the location of your hand covering the antenna, meaning hold it in the middle.
     
  17. ragingyeti

    ragingyeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    It was my understanding that this was solely a problem on the TMo versions, whereas the AT&T ones were unaffected. Maybe I've been lucky with my AT&T version, because I have had nothing but great service for the time I've owned it.

    Are other AT&T owners having the 3G connectivity issue?
     
  18. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    Look at the google support forum you will see the issue with everyone

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk
     
  19. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    at&t has the advantage of 850mhz (in some areas)... so signal penetration (not just for buildings but your hand as well I assume???) is better than T-Mo's 1700.... AT&T also has 1900 in some areas though - so at&t users might still see the issue...
     
    ragingyeti likes this.
  20. nestrapez

    nestrapez Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    7
    nope :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...