Google/GPS maps laggy?


Last Updated:

  1. kbayer

    kbayer Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    32
    I used the Droid/Google GPS over Christmas to get from Tx to Fla... smooth as butter. Satellite view of the route was amazing.

    Since then I've rooted with SMUpdater and installed the newest Google Maps, as well as SetCPU, running at 800,000

    I used the GPS yesterday and though it worked great, it was a bit laggy, took a while to fill in with satellite view from time to time, especially if I tried to zoom in at any point.

    Is the rendering of the map reliant more upon the speed of the processor or upon the speed of the internet -- and could any of the updates or mods affected this?

    Anyone else notice anything with maps?
     

    Advertisement
  2. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    I've been using Maps for the past two months. Haven't noticed any change at all, regarding speed. In fact, last night was the first time that I "Buzzed". (I'm no longer a Google Buzz virgin ... I feel dirty! :eek:)

    I really think Maps are going to be very 3G and GPS dependent, especially 3G. Unlike a regular GPS, the DROID needs to download your map data in realtime, whereas typical GPS units have them installed locally. The pros to this for the DROID is that our information now will be as current as possible ... and free. No more annual update charges.
     
  3. maheider

    maheider New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine seems laggy refreshing the satellite view now too. I never had any issue before the recent update(s) to maps. I have good 3G coverage where I live, and even when stationary just moving about the map causes blocks of satellite image to be blank. Sometimes I have to zoom out then back in for it to pick up those blocks.

    I plan to go on a road trip this weekend, and I will test whether anything similar happens as the gps tracks my movements.
     
  4. takeshi

    takeshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    281
    No, but I don't use the satellite view.
     
  5. square

    square Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    24
    i've noticed some lag in the recent updates.
     
  6. Amaroth

    Amaroth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    9
    When I was over clocked at 1 ghz it was lagging bad. Even with set cpu and the profiles and stuff. I went back to before I installed the 1ghz boot and it seems to work perfectly fine now. Not saying that's the reason but I use the gps like every day and I couldn't sacrifice that for overclocking
     

Share This Page

Loading...