google maps and droid overseas?


Last Updated:

  1. oceanlight

    oceanlight Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    8
    ok i'm 99% sure google maps on droid won't work in other countries, but just wanted to check.

    specifically, brazil.

    thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. 747tech

    747tech Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am currently in Rwanda and the answer here is NO.
    I think the phone needs a data connection to load maps.
    It has not worked for me.
     
  3. Eugene

    Eugene Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    781
    Likes Received:
    41
    Thats the issue, you need CMDA data or wireless to download the google maps but the GPS should work fine.
    I found an app called mapdroyd that lets you download from openstreetmap.org ahead of time.
     
  4. oceanlight

    oceanlight Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    8
    thanks much. i'll check out mapdroyd.
     
  5. jamo

    jamo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    39
    I'd also like to know if anyone has used MapDroyd, and how well it has worked. I will be going over to Paris and London in a month or so and would love to have some city maps to take with me. Also, the GPS will work without data, right?
     
  6. oceanlight

    oceanlight Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    8
    ok i installed mapdroyd. it's not great but not bad. as far as i can tell the only functionality it has is that it shows you where you are, which is certainly better than nothing. i only played with it for a few minutes so maybe there is more to it.
     
  7. takeshi

    takeshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    281
    Yup. You can always test with airplane mode.

    IIRC Copilot stores its maps on the SD card so you don't need data to navigate.
     
  8. oceanlight

    oceanlight Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    8
    holy moley $35 for copilot...
     
  9. Kitesurfer

    Kitesurfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    15
    maps worked in aruba. i would get an app for it though just incase, because some areas had spotty coverage, and when your in another country you usually dont stop and ask for directions
     

Share This Page

Loading...