Google Maps NOT working


Last Updated:

  1. Jrid32

    Jrid32 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    People are saying that you can download Google Maps, but it does NOT work and crashes on launch. What is going on with this phone?

    If this is true I will start to regret my order of this phone!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Badmf222

    Badmf222 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    I feel your pain. I'm just about ready to take the package unopened, walk to my nearest Verizon store, pay the restocking fee and just grab an Incredible. I just don't think this phone is worth all the headaches. And I haven't even gotten the damn thing yet. Big disappointment. :mad:
     
  3. Araliss

    Araliss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK if Google Maps doesn't work this will probably be a deal breaker. I refuse to pay Verizon for what should be free. Google may need to tighten up just what they can do with that OS. Cutting them out I don't think was in the plan.
     
  4. 09lexus

    09lexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    got the phone already and the gps works intermitently, google maps pulls up bt will never lock on your location.
     
  5. summerfish

    summerfish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    18
    So it continuously shows the big blue circle of the "round-a-bout" area you're in?
    Honestly, ok, it's an issue, but there are many times with the DROID(1) that I cannot get my exact location unless I drive around.
     
  6. 09lexus

    09lexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    yea. its weird it works fine when im at home and never works when im at work. no clue whats going on. iv tried reprogramming the phone, rebooting the phone, no fix
     
  7. kranbes

    kranbes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0

    whoa whoa whoa... WHO is saying this? this is a new report, so do you have any sources?
     
  8. Don S

    Don S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    180

    these are 2 different issues. Phil over at Android Central is having issues launching the Google Maps he downloaded. I don't know of anyone else having that problem though.

    You are saying Google Maps loads fine, but that you are having intermittent GPS issues. i.e. Your Google Maps loads fine I suppose (but doesn't always correctly identify your location). Correct?
     
  9. 09lexus

    09lexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    it just has the blue circle saying searching for gps. it has the general area im in bt will not lock onto my exact location.
     
  10. Vihzel

    Vihzel Destroying Balls Everyday VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    1,055
    From what I understand, Google Maps wont lock onto your exact location. I tried it on my X and it doesn't.
     
  11. Blue218

    Blue218 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    81
    On my SHITTY Eris Google Maps locked onto my location (within 6 meters) while I'm sitting inside my house. If my lame Eris can do that....I want to make sure that my new upgrade phone can do it too......and then some.
     
  12. 09lexus

    09lexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    my DINC and my X both worked just fine.
     
  13. Destination: Moon

    Destination: Moon Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you have fluorescent - HID light ing or lots of electronic gear at work?
     
  14. 09lexus

    09lexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    i was in my car
     
  15. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    On gps test... using my HTC phone, it locks onto my location, with 6.6 ft accuracy.

    Sorry meant gps test...not maps
     
  16. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    i have both my droid x and my fascinate open with google maps right now. they are both accurate to 10 meters. havent had a single problem with my fascinate (this is now my second one.)
     
  17. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    pic of my fascinate...
    [​IMG]

    screenshot of my x...
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Araliss

    Araliss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok I couldn't help buy notice from your pictures that the Fascinate only has 2 bars and the Droid X is full. Is it possibly for you to run speedtests on them at the same time on 3g? Many of us believe the Galaxy S have a weaker Radio. I know My Epic is twice as slow as my husbands Evo on 3g.

    I have both of these phones coming tomorrow. I was going to refuse the droid x until I saw your bars.
     
  19. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    they were both almost exactly the same, after running 4 tests in a row on each. they both tested right around 1.2Mbps down, and 800k up. i just got off an hour call on my fascinate, and the call quality is perfect, even though it shows fewer bars.
     
  20. Araliss

    Araliss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    1
    Whew, awesome, thanks for that!
     
  21. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    Sund0wn, any truth that voice turn by turn doesn't work on the Fascinate in Google navigation?
     
  22. substring

    substring Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    58
    Are we sure that the X is not like the iPhone where the number of bars displayed is not really the actual reception strength (you actually has less than what's being displayed)? It is entirely possible. :)
     
  23. honeymic

    honeymic Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    sund0wn what do your GPS settings look like on the Fascinate? If your not having any issues with the F i'd like to test out mine with the same settings....
     
  24. rushmore

    rushmore Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    8,267
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    You should not have to pay restock if unopened.
     
  25. bytheriver

    bytheriver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sund0wn, did you have a problem with the first one you had? I noticed you said "this is my second one"
     

Share This Page

Loading...