Google Maps with Navigation - HOW?Support


Last Updated:

  1. DarkSky

    DarkSky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have 2 versions it seems of Google Maps.

    1 goes straight to he map after tapping the icon, 1 have a blue "Navigation" logo and load bar below it.

    The latter kept saying "unable to reach your destination" or something like that, so I slid it to trash.

    I'm trying to find out how to get Google Maps WITH turn-by-turn navigation. Ever since I moved that one icon to trash, I can't seem to get the one that has that blue Navigation load screen.

    ???
     

    Advertisement
  2. fatflatfly

    fatflatfly Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    create Directions & Navigation shortcut from the homescreen then save it. when you click the short cut on desktop it loads the Google Maps Navigation beta screen but then it tells me no route found. Using version 4.1.0 on milestone 2.0.1
     
    DarkSky likes this.
  3. DarkSky

    DarkSky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    5
    THanks! Yep, that's how I did it before now that I've done it again. And yes, whenever I click the new icon I made it loads through the "Google Maps Navigation beta" screen but always comes up with:

    No route found
    Navigation to your destination is not available
    [Exit Navigation]


    Maybe it's still only available in the US.

    Question: Is this the ONLY way to load Google Maps Navigation? (through a preset destination using a screen shortcut)?
     
  4. fatflatfly

    fatflatfly Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think that maybe it is not meant to be opening in navigation for us yet, could be error, or it could be to let us know its coming soon.
     
  5. DarkSky

    DarkSky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yah I'm pretty sure voice navigation is only available to US customers right now.

    It would have been nice if it said "not available in your area" or something, instead of giving a message that makes it seem like I entered a screwed up destination. :cool: If I knew from the first try that it wasn't available here I wouldn't have spent all this time trying to do it different ways, hehe.
     
  6. chyau.00

    chyau.00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2
    or.....just search the web for the m4ps ...that makes navigation available everywhere.
     
  7. DarkSky

    DarkSky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well.. kind of... if you can successfully stare at your GPS screen for when to turn and where to go, and the traffic in front of you at the same time.

    Myself, I need audible commands sent to my ears on how far to go, what lane to get into if I'm on a busy highway and an exit is coming, etc, etc.. I can't be glancing at my GPS screen each 10 secs to see what I've got coming up.

    I'm going to start a thread on Android GPS software that's out, and hopefully keep updating it. Because from what I've read so far, there's all sorts of things "in the works" for Android - just not much actually available.
     

Share This Page

Loading...