google maps wont install


Last Updated:

  1. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    I got an update notification and it downloads but will not install. Any ideas. Rooted/froyo customer.
     

    Advertisement
  2. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    Anybody?
     
  3. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    what rom are you on?
     
    twistedlim likes this.
  4. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    [​IMG]

    Thanks!
     
  5. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    I actually still am not sure what rom that is. Im assuming its one of the leaks from motorola based on the test keys line. Any idea what you flashed?
     
    twistedlim likes this.
  6. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    No I purchased it rooted. Any way I can find out?
    Thanks,
    Rich
     
  7. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    It appears that you have FRF57 on your phone or at least an FRF57 rom. Thats a pretty old build. Its actually the first leaked froyo build that was out. I would suggest upgrading to a more current rom. I remember people having maps issues on the FRF57 roms. If you want to stick with something plain FRG22 would be a good bet.
     
    twistedlim likes this.
  8. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    Can you tell me how to install that using Rom Manager and where I would find it (FRG22 )? Just pretend you are trying to explain it to a 2 year old. I just about lost everything changing basebands.
     
  9. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    Download this

    http://www.mydroidfiles.com/downloads/FRG22-DEODEXED-Release.zip

    put it on your sdcard (anywhere on it just make sure you know where it is)

    open rom manager

    Press Install Rom from SD Card

    Find the rom you just put on your sdcard.

    A rom Pre-Installation box with pop up. Check the box for backup existing ROM.

    Press ok

    A box will then popup for Reboot and Install press ok



    Your phone will reboot flash the rom and then boot back up.
     
  10. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    I followed your instructions and the it went though the update process. There was one message "*no sd-ext found skipping backup of sd-ext"

    The phone rebooted but seems to be caught in a loop wher the droid logo comes up and then the blinking eye then the eye stops blinking and back to the logo, back to the eye...

    What did I do wrong?

    Thanks!
     
  11. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    There was one message "*no sd-ext found skipping backup of sd-ext

    that part is not issue.

    Most likely the problem is that I didnt have you wipe your data/cache.

    You can either wipe data and cache and it will boot fine or you can restore the backup you made back everything with Titaniumbackup if you havent done so already then try again with wiping data and cache.

    Let me know what you wanna do
     
  12. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    If we go with option 1 wiping the data and cashe will it go boot to the new rom? If so we can give that a try.

    Rich

    PS I dont think I have titaniumbackup installed?
     
  13. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    Sure just turn off the phone...you may need to pull the battery.

    The turn it back on while holding X

    Then click on wipe data/Factory reset

    Then press yes

    Then reboot
     
  14. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    Did as you said, seems to be stuck on a little green guy next to the garbage pail with the arrow going out of the pail?
     
  15. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    you should see that while its wiping. Reboot when its done
     
  16. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    It can take a while then?
     
  17. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    shouldnt take long. Does it say anything on your screen?
     
  18. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    Nope, it has been over 5 minutes.
     
  19. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    pull your battery and reboot into recovery again
     
    twistedlim likes this.
  20. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    done, where from here?
    Thanks
     
  21. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    ok try the wipe data/ factory reset again.....very weird it didnt work the first time
     
    twistedlim likes this.
  22. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    Wipe data is complete, now have green tabs at top.
    reboot system now
    apply sdcard:update.zip
    wipe data factory reset
    wipe cache partition
    install xip from sd card
    nandroid
    partitionos menu
    andvanced

    Do I restart the phone with the on/off button or by reboot system now at the top of the phone?
     
  23. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,290
    Likes Received:
    825
    reboot system now
     
    twistedlim likes this.
  24. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    stuck on the little green guy with the trash can again. No text
     
  25. twistedlim

    twistedlim Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    80
    Can I go to nandroid/boot to recovery/flash back up?
     

Share This Page

Loading...