• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Google Nav Favorites Workaround

I have a TomTom One XLS. I travel alot because I'm a contractor. I'm all OVER the place, so I have tons of Favorites... like (well now it doesn't matter with the google search and all, but like where the nearest Wal-Mart is, the Borders, stuff like that, the mall...)

I was a wee bit pissed that the Google Nav didn't have favorites, or a way to add, or import them as such, or a good way to manage/navigate to them. I have created a workaround.

In a nutshell you need to dump your GPS Favorites into a custom POI file, export the POI file to your computer, have GPS Visualizer's Bable convert it into a KML file which you then upload to your custom My Maps file, then it's easy street, and you simply enable the My Maps layer on your Google Maps on the Droid, either tap on a "Favorite" which now has a flag, or dis-able then renable it (My Maps Layer) and select it from a list and pick your option (Show on Map, Get Directions, Nav).

I've found a workaround.

1.) In your GPS add your favorites to a custom POI Category (mine was called "Favorites")

2.) Now download the custom POI Category file from your GPS (With my TomTom it was Favorites.ov2)

3.) Now go to GPS Visualizer's Babel utility (GPS Visualizer: Web interface to GPSBabel)

4.) Select the proper input file type (in my case it was TomTom POI File (.OV2))

5.) Select the proper output file type (Google Earth Keyhole Markup Language)

6.) Select the file that contains your POI's (that contains your Favorites)

7.) Click Convert

8.) Right-Click Save File As, to your computer and save that file (I created a folder in my Desktop called TomTom to contain the original OV2, a converted human readable TXT File w/ LAT & LON, AND the KML Google file)

9.) Go to Google Maps and click on "My Maps" in the upper left hand region. (Google Maps)