1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Google Nav - Where is "speak destination"?


Last Updated:

  1. CreepyD

    CreepyD Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've searched these forums, reviews and google, and nobody seems to have asked the question anywhere.
    Eeerywhere I look tells me there should be an option called "Speak Destination" alongside "Type Destination" (I see only Type, not Speak).
    Am I missing something? Maybe something from the market I need?

    It all seems to work perfectly other than that..

    I should add I'm using a G2 Touch (Hero) updated to 2.1
     

    Advertisement
  2. DaWeav

    DaWeav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    53
    When I select the Navigation app in the system tray that was added when I loaded the latest v4.4 update to Google Maps, it shows 'Speak Destination' as the first option.
     
  3. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    But what version of Google Maps are you running? The current version is 4.4.
     
  4. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    965
    I've got speak destination as the first option as well.
     
  5. CreepyD

    CreepyD Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hm I'm definitely on 4.4, it says so when I go to the google maps app in the marketplace.
    It says it's up to date..
    I also tried holding the search button on screen when navigating, but holding it does nothing. It just comes up a text box when I release it, I read that's also suppose to launch the speak destination dialog.
    It's like it's not installed the speak part..

    I load up navigation from my navigation icon and all I see is:
    Type Destination
    Contacts
    Starred Items
    -------------------
    Recent Destinations
    .......
    .......

    AAHH!
    I just found Google Search by Voice in the marketplace!
    Grr it never said anywhere that it was an addon.
    Happiness!
     
  6. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    965
    Interesting. I don't remember it being an add on for me. For me it's always been there.
     
  7. CreepyD

    CreepyD Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep it's working now, I had to install it myself manually.
    Maybe it's something that was missed off the G2 Touch update specifically?
    Hopefully others will find this thread in future and save some time.
     
  8. Weazol

    Weazol Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    142
    you dont have to be in google nav. I just hold down the search button and say navigate to place and google nav opens and navigates.
     
  9. gloa2000

    gloa2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    all u have to do is to install voice search by google
     

Share This Page

Loading...