Google Navigation now works in UK (Official)


Last Updated:

  1. byron_hinson

    byron_hinson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    9
    Google Navigation 4.1.1 beta works right now in the UK - it's an official release. Just run it on your desire.
     

    Advertisement
    rhodzy, sho3man, dolbydan and 4 others like this.
  2. JasonC

    JasonC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    38
    Where do you download it from? is it on the Market yet?
     
  3. byron_hinson

    byron_hinson Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    9
    No need to - just run it through Google Maps built into the Desire - no idea why it started working fine today, but tested it on 3 android phones and they all work with the new beta as of now! Warns you it is a beta when you run it. Just search a location and then click on navigate to it.

    Working great here, will try it in the car later on today.
     
  4. wuthton

    wuthton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    27
    Well spotted, it has got me puzzled as to how it just started working.
     
  5. kopkiwi

    kopkiwi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    24
    Being that the phone wont ever being coming to NZ, I don't hold much hope on us ever getting some sort of fix for it.
     
  6. spirit44

    spirit44 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    does this mean i can now uninstall the maps [Brut] thing? and free up precious memory on the phone?
     
  7. JasonC

    JasonC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    38
    Thanks for that, seems to work well, I just need a car mount for it now.
     
  8. Case

    Case Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yep
     
    spirit44 likes this.
  9. marshalex

    marshalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    i'm guessing you still need an active data connection to use it? means its a bugger for those of us on orange with pathetic data limits :(
     
  10. tbl

    tbl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    What package are you on? I dont think Nav will use much data, but I'm going to keep an eye on it once I get a car dock (might even bin the TomTom :))

    Does anyone know if the Car Home app can be ported to Desire from Nexus One?
     
  11. marshalex

    marshalex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    dolphin 30 with the data pack which has a limit of 500mb per month, which is crap!
     
  12. Mike_M

    Mike_M Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    4
    Good find and the road names at the top of the screen works now :)
     
  13. HTC_Desire

    HTC_Desire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    34
  14. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hmm, can't say I notice anything different on Maps - what am I looking for specifically?
     
  15. gumbald

    gumbald New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes.
     
    HTC_Desire likes this.
  16. kaushal101

    kaushal101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. abstractsimon2

    abstractsimon2 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Great news, just tried it myself too, works like a charm!
     
  18. Banzibarn

    Banzibarn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    Very good! :)

    Is there any way to dowload the maps at home, so when driving you don't have to reply on a good data connection to load the map as you drive?
     
  19. trevytrev

    trevytrev Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    13
    Sorry but not used a phone for Sat nav before, will this use up some of my data allowance then, or can it just use the GPS? I'm on Orange Dolphin too so not a massive data allowance.
     
  20. tigerdriver

    tigerdriver New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i cant see anything different ... htc legend on vodafone :(
     
  21. HTC_Desire

    HTC_Desire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    34
    Woohoooo - Got me all excited, so i had to dive out to the car park to try this out, and it's great. Same functionality I had with Brut's modded map pack but now I get the correct name of the road at the top of the screen instead of "Un-named Road".

    I also got back the app storage space that the second modded map pack took up, which was not insignificant.

    Made my day - Thank you Google!!!
     
  22. miasma

    miasma Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    4
    Is this included in the Google maps update I downloaded from the market yesterday then?

    Anyone with Orange UK handset able to confirm whether it works as it should or whether they've crippled it to try and get a fiver a month out of me? Not in a position to be able to check at themoment but interested to find out...
     
  23. Bearo

    Bearo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    shweet, earlier than i thought!
     
  24. Brip

    Brip Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm also on Orange (unbranded phone) and don't seem to have the new navigation feature.
    My Google Maps is ver. 4.1.1 (#4156), but can't see the navigation option; where should it be?

    Is it possible Orange could be blocking/disabling the navigation function??
     
  25. tbl

    tbl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    you have to get driving directions first, then it will offer you the navigate option. Previously in the UK this option was hidden.

    You can do a check by searching New York to Washington (or similar), yesterday you would have found this worked but UK didnt.

    This isn't particularly a software upgrade on the handset side that's sorted it, it's just that google have enabled it at the backend for UK co-ordinates
     

Share This Page

Loading...