Google navigation UK, how much longer.


Last Updated:

  1. markie-m8

    markie-m8 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    How long have we got to wait for the proper Google navigation
    To get enabled in the UK, I feel a little robbed. LOL
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    Anyone's guess unfortunately, would like them to get their arse in gear though.
     
  3. herojames

    herojames Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    i reckon when its official in the uk, uk users will get updated. i know its official but not with a carrier yet
     
  4. cannontrodder

    cannontrodder New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My UK G1 (running cyanogen) downloaded google maps with navigation showing as a beta?

    When I go to contacts, it actually has the option to 'navigate to xyz' with xyz being any address in contacts. Selecting it actually launches navigation but says that it cannot find a route that that destination and the background shows navigation tracking my current position.

    Does everyone else get this?
     
  5. Rusty

    Rusty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,635
    Likes Received:
    192
    Sadly it's nothing to do with that.
     
  6. theartfullodger

    theartfullodger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    10
    CoPilot,
     
  7. markie-m8

    markie-m8 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I get something like that if I long press the search button and say navigate to McDonald's, it launches navigation shows where I am and says can't find route or something like that.

    Come on Google hurry up.
     
  8. afonja

    afonja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    7
  9. cannontrodder

    cannontrodder New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried the first one which worked back then but google have since closed the hole that allowed it to work.
     
  10. yakboy

    yakboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    3
    We dont have navigation in the uk as uk mapping data is still bought from navtec i believe. in the US Goofle now have their own map data for the whole country. I am assuming that their uk map license with navtec has a clause that they cant use it to drive any turn by turn software thus preventing them infringing on navtecs lucrative tomtom market.

    I suppose they could get the license but we'd have to pay for it as an app. Navtec may also be reluctant to offer it up as if google navs entire cost was just the map license it would be markedly cheaper than anything they themselves could bring to market.

    we'll have to see... dont suppose anyone knows googles roadmap for uk road mapping do you ?
     
  11. theartfullodger

    theartfullodger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    10
  12. ROBIN50N

    ROBIN50N Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    6
  13. yakboy

    yakboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    3
    actually I'm not too bothered by the cost, satnav is a fundamental base requirement for me these days.

    personally I want Google nav because of its complete integration. I was in a new town the other day and needed a supermarket. opened maps, 1 quick voice search for supermarket and I had a half dozen options available. as it stands now I had to copy the destination postcode into my tomtom to get there. would have been cool to skip that stage.



    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk
     
  14. Laxe

    Laxe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think there still is a place for dedicated sat nav programs like Co-Pilot because if you're travelling abroad you obviously don't want to run up a huge data roaming bill using Google Maps / Navigation all the time! Whereas with programs like Co-Pilot the maps are pre-installed and will work in foreign countries.

    Until they drastically reduce roaming data rates Google Navigation will only be the preferred choice in your resident country.
     
  15. yakboy

    yakboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    3
    bloody good point! might just put the tomtom on eBay, should be able to clear
     
  16. justdoit

    justdoit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    5
    The later hack still works in a fashion (as it always did) even with the latest maps update so if you don't mind the voice directions being late or not at all, the direction arrows not appearing and the top bar constantly saying unrecognised Road then its just fine - the map is clear enough to see where your going. Oh and the N1 doesn't even have to be rooted to install the hack either!
     
  17. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Sounds great... Think I'll wait.
     
  18. markie-m8

    markie-m8 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some great answers guys, think I might have to try co-pilot as I forgot you need data for Google's navigation and signal around my way is shockingly bad.
     
  19. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Yeah, think I'm going to go with CoPilot. It's hardly going to break the bank. I just need to find a car dock I like.
     
  20. justdoit

    justdoit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    5
    Signals bad by me too but Navigation works with no problems even in areas of signal outage.
     
  21. dhevans

    dhevans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    Has anyone tried CoPilot?

    Having had TomTom on three Nokias for years I swear by it.
    Would trade in the last Nokia and the TT GPS I have for it for CoPilot if it's any good. Ovi maps on Nokia (IMHO) was rubbish...
     
  22. justdoit

    justdoit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    5
    Was never impressed with Tomtom on the N95 tbh, had to use an external GPS receiver until the hack came out to use the internal one then it took an age to get a lock, inputting was a mare (too slow at picking up keyboard commands) and it didn't like landscape. Bought Full Ovi with traffic for the N97 but thought it was rubbish too but when I lost the N97 I transferred the licence to the N95 and I'm blown away by it - Locks within seconds and has never lost gps signal in any of the times I've used it. I use Google Nav with the hack at the mo simply because I can't be bothered to swop the sim but because it's a hack and isn't the full blown thing I find it lacking in comparison so come on Google, sort the licensing out in the UK!
     
  23. cxm

    cxm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    as I understand it - when you select a route it downloads all the route information you need, and then only uses data for e.g. updates, traffic or if you go off course. I tried it with data turned off having selected the route over wifi from home. As i drove it just said "stay on course" but the directions worked fine.
     
  24. RedMist

    RedMist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have it. I would say that compared to my TomTom dedicated device, it's not as good. More complicated and a bit slower. In fact so slow on my G1 it caused all sort of problems with other apps timing out. However, on my Nexus it's much faster and auses no problems. Still not as good as a dedicated TomTom though.q
     
  25. russe||

    russe|| Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm with markie-m8. I feel robbed by Google. Considering I've recently been stung for VAT, with the extra charger and the shipping costs I paid a significant amount more for my N1 than the Americans do. Yet for my extra outlay I get a phone with no Google Navigation and no Google Voice. Add to that that for me one of the major selling points of the N1 was that it worked with wireless N - which it currently doesn't I'm slightly disgruntled.

    It's a great phone and I'm really pleased with it, it's just frustrating as it could/should be even better.
     

Share This Page

Loading...