1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Google Navigstion options


Last Updated:

  1. joela85

    joela85 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think google maps/nav is great, the only problem i have with it is choosing my route or puttin via points in, is there anyway of doing this? on laptop i can create my own route my dragging, and then via chrome to phone i can send it to my phone, but i want to know if there is a better way of doing it or a way that i can do it and just use my phone. any suggestions? if there was a way of adding via points would be good?

    thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. joela85

    joela85 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    people with similar problems? also no solutions then...
     
  3. furious duck

    furious duck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    10
    Not sure I follow.

    In maps if I select menu and then directions I get options for start and end points. If I tap the start button I get options for either Current location, contacts, point on map or starred places. The same applies to the end point.

    Are you wanting something different?
     
  4. simon1

    simon1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    7
    I don't know of any way of putting in via points, hopefully it's an option that will be added sometime. And no, you can't drag to change a route as you can on the PC. But if you set a route, you can hit menu>route info and then touch the icon for an alt route and it will offer a couple of options if available. These options update as you drive.
     
  5. spile

    spile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    44
    You really need a separate app like Sygic or CoPilot to do this sort of thing, plus you'll get things like POIs, speedcams, no data use as maps are preinstalled.
     
  6. Cougar

    Cougar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    16
    I've done it with My Tracks, dunno if Google Maps works in the same way.

    Exported a track from the PC, then used Linda File Manager to "Open With" My Tracks. I think it's an undocumented feature (you can't do it natively as far as I'm aware), but it works. Might be able to do similar with GM? Worth a fiddle perhaps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...