google nexus 7 should i upgrade to 4.2Support

Last Updated: 2013-01-29 00:30:00
  1. bizzybazza

bizzybazza New Member

i am a real newbie so forgive me if i am making any mistakes.
    i have ordered a nexus 7 (with jellybean 4.1) and it is on its way but looking around the internet have seen worrying posts re problems with the 4.2 upgrade. so i just wanted to make sure that when setting up the tablet should i upgrade it or wait. has anyone any news re nexus 7 and version 4.2 if so any idea when a fix is available.hope you can help i dont want to start on a bad footing thanks in anticipation :)

bizzybazza

Advertisement
  2. binary visions

binary visions Well-Known Member

I would upgrade.

Keep in mind, you're ONLY hearing about problems on here. You don't see a hundred people get on the forum to say, "I upgraded and it works fine."

I upgraded, it's fine. Two people at work upgraded, they're fine. The daughter of one of the guys at work upgraded, and it's fine. With any software upgrade, sometimes there are problems - but more often than not, it's okay.
  3. Gomjaba

Gomjaba Well-Known Member

I don't think I ever had problems with upgrades unless I tried dodgy ROMs :)
    bizzybazza likes this.
  4. Rxpert83

Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

Exactly, :D

We are primarily a support forum, so by definition were going to have problems here.

The upgrade went smoothly for me as well
    El Presidente likes this.
  5. iwchris

iwchris Member

Yes I upgraded mine it was only 1week old, all went well and no problems at all, very pleased with the Nexus so far.
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  6. Netcat

Netcat Well-Known Member

I also upgraded and didn't see any issues. The only problems you might encounter is apps that won't run in 4.2 but WILL run in 4.1. You might not find out until after you upgrade.
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  7. El Presidente

El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate! Moderator

I upgraded as soon as it was out of the box. No issues for me either.