Google Nexus One Android phone in Canada?


Last Updated:

  1. bgoody

    bgoody Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    6

    Advertisement
  2. puleen

    puleen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    7
    One more day until we get more details about Nexus One and how one can obtain it. If Google makes it available for Canadians to buy it directly from them (Google), I am down for that. If on the other hand they sell it through Rogers, I am not going to jump on that. Why you ask?

    1) Rogers has not so proven a track record in serving their customers
    2) Don't want to deal with Rogers, period!
    3) See #1

    Cheers! :)
     
  3. johflo88

    johflo88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    1
    same here, would not touch them again with a 10ft pole !! i rather use the jungle drum or smoke signal to send my messages if i have to.:mad:
     
  4. Aqualung

    Aqualung New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think the 900-1700-2100 Nexus One will be usable in Canada, so we may have to wait for the 900-1900-2100 one. Will they be launched at the same time by any chance?
     
  5. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    46
    Today is G-Day

    [​IMG]
     
  6. xxRabidxx

    xxRabidxx New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like canada is getting shat on again.
    Unavailable in your country.
    No Nexus for us for a while.

    edit: you may have to sign out to see it.
     
  7. zortoflaven

    zortoflaven Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hopefully they are not selling it here yet because they are working on an AT&T version for sale here. Also, they want paid apps access first.

    I can dream, can't I? :eek:
     
  8. oliverf

    oliverf New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's how to setup a Nexus One in Canada (assuming you can actually get one - thankfully, they're unlocked).
     
  9. loconet

    loconet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    not surprised about the no-Canada launch. Not holding my breath for this one :(
     
  10. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
  11. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
  12. puleen

    puleen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    7
    I sure hope that if Nexus One comes to Canada, Google doesn't make the evil move of charging their own ETF fee to customers.

    Come on Google, you remember back in 2004 you said "Do Nothing Evil", well this goes against that simple motto of yours.
     
  13. opus904

    opus904 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    So i have read some of the replys to this thread and i still have't seen a clear answer does anyone know if an unlocked Nexus will work in canada, more to the point how about work in Atlantic Canada?
     
  14. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    46
    It will work with all canadian providers as a phone, for data however only with WIND will you be able to get 3G, all other providers you will only be able to get EDGE speeds (2G).

    gbd
     
  15. puleen

    puleen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    7
    GBD is accurate in his statement that it will only work with WIND for 3G. Also keep in mind that WIND is a new carrier, so they don't have full coverage yet, but soon enough they will, I am sure about that at which point it will work across Canada or whatever areas WIND covers.
     
  16. opus904

    opus904 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0

    So looking at the coverage map that Rogers has on their web site , it shows Rogers Mobile Internet (HSPA and EDGE) 3.5G Mobile Internet (HSPA) coverage in most big Cities in the Atlantic Provences. What Band range does Wind Have that Rogers doesn't?:rolleyes:
     
  17. Brendanmurphy

    Brendanmurphy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    16
    900 1700 i beleive
     
  18. opus904

    opus904 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I stumbled accross a couple of sites stating that rogers was getting the nexus one. Q2( i think) anyone care to expand on this one?
     
  19. chrisyak

    chrisyak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    15
    really?????have not read that anywhere
     
  20. opus904

    opus904 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
  21. puleen

    puleen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    7
    @RogersMary, is it true that #NexusOne will be coming to Rogers in Q2? Can this be confirmed? We know Sony Xperia is coming to Rogers.
     
  22. GreatBigDog

    GreatBigDog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    46
    That article states that the nexus one is coming to Verizon and Rogers but not AT&T. The author has a mistaken belief that Verizon and Rogers operate the same networks but this is incorrect. It is Rogers and AT&T that are the same.

    It was confirmed that Verizon will be getting a Nexus one sometime this year but that will be a CDMA device not GSM as used on the Rogers Network.

    Sorry to disappoint.

    gbd
     
  23. opus904

    opus904 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well as Homer S. would say D'Oh. I guess i have to wait on the Sony X10 and see what it's like.:cool:
     
  24. vikingisson

    vikingisson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    24
    no doubt there will be more google phones and versions even for us frozen beavers. I never understood the statement "xxxx phone is coming to provider yyyy". That should no longer apply with easy to buy unlocked phones, we only want to know if it works on provider yyy, not if they officially sell it. No more Rogers "customized" ROMs and locked down phones for me....
     
  25. Bikram

    Bikram New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I am a customer with rogers and my contract is about to expire on November. I was thinking of getting a new Android phone, Nexus looks awesome...... but we cant get that in here and doesn't look like roger is going to get it.

    Do you think if I buy it from ebay it would still work? Will I be missing any kind of special stuff that works only on US but not here?

    I was thinking of getting X10, has almost the same features. And I am using Xperia (which is an awesome phone), so I thought I will just move to X10 if I can't get Nexus. Roger is going to get X10 somewhere in july.

    So is it worth trying to get Nexus or X10 is enough?
     

Share This Page

Loading...