google search by voice back on marketSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    as stated in the Title. just saw it on the market and it works
     

    Advertisement
  2. porga

    porga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    6
    I cant see it in croatia. Does it work with Galaxo? any issues? Can it be used for voice dial when driving?

    Tnx
     
  3. informale

    informale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    33
    has it been off the Market? It has always been available to me since the first 1.6 firmware. I'm on Three UK.
     
  4. inFECT

    inFECT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    69
    afaik it wasnt on the german market too.. Will check it later.
     
  5. porga

    porga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    6
    SOmebody, answer me. Practical use of this app? voice commands or?

    BTW: "Folks who want porn can buy an Android phone" - Steve Jobs

    He doesn't know how many of those are online.... ;)
     
  6. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    it wasnt for me in o2 uk and it shouldnt have been for you either
    the reason it was not there is because of compatability issues with the latest maps

    its now back, i dont know how long its been back for though

    its a gimmic, some people like it.
    its what it says on the tin
     
  7. Snazzy

    Snazzy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    37
    I don't see it yet on Canada market. I REALLY like this application but the old APK that I have been using only works 50% of the time.

    Any chance someone can grab the new APK and repost somewhere?
     
  8. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    Snazzy likes this.
  9. porga

    porga Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    6
    Instaled on galaxo and phone ended frozen. I had to remove battery. Doesnt work for me.
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    hmmm, im on galaxo 1.6.3.3 no freeze for me.
    hmm maybe the maps bug is still there.
    I havent used the latest maps yet or turned on latitude which i think trigers the bug
     
  11. Snazzy

    Snazzy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    37
    It's no better than the previous version. It works less than 50% of the time, it just never completes the search or the 'Speak Now' icon never appears. :(
     
  12. weasel

    weasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    23
    Found this:
    So how do you get started? According to Google:
    If your phone runs Android 2.1 or later, and you have the Quick Search Box installed, all you have to do is tap the microphone icon to start a voice-powered search. iPhone and BlackBerry users who already have Google Mobile App installed can enable voice search by selecting the new languages from the settings panel within the app.
    If you have Android 1.6 or 2.1 (Donut or Eclair), and you have already installed the Search by voice application, starting later today voice search will return recognition results for French, German, Italian or Spanish if your phone has one of those languages chosen in
     
  13. ryko

    ryko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had trouble finding it in france using "voice search" then found it using "recherche vocale" so for those of you in Germany,Spain or Italy use the appropriate language ;)

    It seems to clash with the voice commands on Navigation so that neither of them work so I have uninstalled voice search, you have to reboot after.
     
  14. bresslau

    bresslau Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    5
    Installed it on Galaxo here in Germany. The icons appear, I can start the application, it records what I speak and seems to analyse it, but it never sends the results to the search page, I never get a result.
    Pity, I believe that this is a killer app to use while driving.
    Anyone experienced the same problem?
     
  15. Snazzy

    Snazzy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yes. None of my voice searches ever make it to the results page now. is this working for anyone?
     
  16. mrpea

    mrpea Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    i got one through out of about 20 attempts.. i think that ill bin this app until it works properly on 1.6..
     
  17. weasel

    weasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    23
    I gave it a go before I went to Galaxo and it never worked. Real pisser. The one thing I really miss is voice commands. I cannot believe that my old V3C Razor can do this and the Galaxy can't.
     
  18. DemonDomen

    DemonDomen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Back on 1.5, it was working quite well for me. It's great if you don't know the spelling of some words.
     

Share This Page

Loading...