Google Voice and Verizon (top 10 friend and family)


Last Updated:

  1. djsat03

    djsat03 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anybody who is using google voice and have the top 10 friends and family on their plan. Does your top 10 still work? Do i add my google number in my top 10?
     

    Advertisement
  2. allanlaw

    allanlaw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    31
    I have the top 5 and yes it still works, with my Google number as one of the 5.
     
  3. djsat03

    djsat03 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1

    Does that mean all incoming and outgoing calls be unlimited then, from who ever?

    I am still trying to figure this out how it works. So when you make an call it calls your google number and then it forwards it to your party. And when somebody calls your google number and it forwards it your number.
     
  4. Dragoro

    Dragoro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    26
    You need to add your google number to it if others are on your plan for it to be a free call for them. You need to add your outgoing number (itll be in a white box at top of screen when calling someone) for your outgoing calls to be free. If you want your incoming calls to be free, your google number needs to be on the list, and you have to go into google voice settings on the web and select it to always show your google number for incoming calls (which means no caller ID).
     
  5. djsat03

    djsat03 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are you talking about this setting on the web i need to change?

    Settings > Calls
    Caller ID (in)
    Display caller's number
    Display my Google Voice number (CHECK THIS)?
     
  6. Dragoro

    Dragoro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    26
    Yep
     
  7. djsat03

    djsat03 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    That number it calls to forward your calls from (outgoing), does it ever change. ?
     
  8. Dragoro

    Dragoro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    26
    Yes, if you move around. Sometimes its the same number for a big area, like ya live in a small town, while if ya live in a big city like NY it could change several times depending on where in the city ya are.
     
  9. djsat03

    djsat03 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    The number it dials for me is in an different city from my city. And that city is where i go to school too. So i think i might get lucky and they will not change it on me.
     
  10. Dragoro

    Dragoro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    26
    Just watch as it dials out as ya move around and verify that its calling the same number.
     
  11. djsat03

    djsat03 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sure will, thanks for the help, just hope there was an way to get the caller id back.
     
  12. Dragoro

    Dragoro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    26
    You can set gv to make people say their names when they call and you have the option of accepting the call or sending them straight to voicemail.
     
  13. djsat03

    djsat03 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yea, it asks me when incoming call comes in an robotic voice says the "..name", press 1 to accept or 2 straight to voice mail. On google settings page it says "If your callers are in your Contacts list, Google Voice will read their names". And if they're not, then it will ask for their name.
     
  14. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    Though mine has not changed yet (I haven't strayed far since getting my Droid), I have read in many places that it can, but haven't seen any mention of what causes the change. Does the number change based on your actual location at the time the call is placed? If so, it might be worthwhile to start a list of originating locations and outbound numbers used, so people can plan ahead a little, since F&F number changes don't take effect until the following day.
     
  15. CF_Pro

    CF_Pro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hmm the people in my contact list seem to ring straight through without any announcement. Only people that are not in my contact list get prompt to say their names and then I have the choice to deny them or not.

    What setting am I missing?
     
  16. phwaap

    phwaap Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    3
    There are two settings: call screening and presentation. Screening asks them to say who they are, presentation tells you who they are and allows you to answer or vmail them. Both are under Settings/Calls. You should probably also check Settings/Groups to verify each group has these set as you want. It's been a while since I set my groups up but I think the default might be to ring through.
     
  17. CF_Pro

    CF_Pro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    These are my settings

    Call Screening [​IMG] Enable screening Asks unknown callers to say their name
    Screen all unknown callers
    Screen only callers with blocked caller ID
    Call Presentation [​IMG] On Announces caller's name and gives answering options
    Off Directly connects calls when phones are answered


    I guess I should not put anybody in my contact list.
     
  18. Dragoro

    Dragoro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    26

    Yep that is correct. And that would be the only way to do it and keep your outgoing calls free as you move around.
     
  19. Dragoro

    Dragoro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    26


    You have to have it screen all callers, not just blocked ID callers.
     
  20. UncleMike

    UncleMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,319
    Likes Received:
    482
    I'm in Monmouth County NJ, and my outgoing calls go through 609-878-0466. Anyone have a number for northern NJ or NYC?
     
  21. digdug

    digdug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    I call from Central Jersey (Edison) but use a 917 number (NYC mobile number). The bridging number +1-(518)-314-9466. I suspect the bridging number relates to the Google Voice number. My wife's Eris which is associated with a 908 Google Voice number, making calls from the same room, will use the (609) bridging number mentioned in the above post. So I think it has to do with the area code of the GV number more than where one actually is.
     
  22. djsat03

    djsat03 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is this normal, like when ever somebody texts me on my google number, i get that text message in the google voice app, but then i also get another same message in default phone app as well. Is there way to disable this, so it does not send another copy to my default phone SMS app?
     

Share This Page

Loading...