google voice question.. new number or use current #


Last Updated:

  1. drudometkin

    drudometkin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    16
    I just got a Google voice invite and I'm trying to decide whether to use my current number or get a new gv number. If I choose to get a new gv number will I be able to set up the visual voicemail service with my current number? Or just with the gv number only? Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. darkjinni2

    darkjinni2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    From my understanding you won't need visual voicemail, because your GV number will send the voicemails to your gmail account and it will even transcribe it into text for you as well. Hope that helps with your decision. It basically makes VVM obsolete.
     
  3. thegreen

    thegreen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    48
    Get the GV number. Even if you don't use it, you can still have VM's from your current phone # sent to your GV visual voicemail acct. (activate in your settings)
    I only use my GV # to give to businesses/services etc.- especially if I don't trust them because it's easy to block them as spam later if I need to.
    I use my verizon # for friends and family. Voicemails from both #'s go to the same GV inbox, bypassing VZW's VM service.
     
  4. AndroidsOfTara

    AndroidsOfTara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    138
    There's no reason not to get the new number. You don't have to use it if you don't want to, but it will be there when and if you're ready.

    You can get a new number and only use it with your existing number for visual voice mail.

    I did exactly that for a while with my old LG flip phone before I got a Droid.

    I've been using my GV number as my only contact number for about 5 months now. It gives me complete control over who can contact me and how they do it.
     
  5. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Thread hijack warning (now that the OP's question has been covered). :)

    None of my VMs have been getting transcribed for a while - always shows "transcript unavailable. Any idea why?
     
  6. thegreen

    thegreen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    48
    That's odd... I've never seen that. Amusingly wrong transcriptions are working fine for me, as of this afternoon. On calls via my VZW # anyway, if that matters.
     
  7. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    Better to have a different #. That way free verizon to verizon will still work. GV # also gives you more options. Best to get a gv# that is a local call for you or a local call from a loved ones landline so they can call you free.
     
  8. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4,213
    Likes Received:
    3,481
    Yes, get a new number and use it for texting if nothing else.

    Hijack alert:
    My only gripe with GV is the playback volume, it's soooo low. I can turn it up and hear the message but it's sort of a PITA to have to do that all the time. I'm still deciding whether I will use it for VM and texts or just texts but it's a definite win either way! I'll save a nice bit of change on texting :)
     
  9. aggressor2323

    aggressor2323 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    That is exactly to the T what I use google voice for on my Droid.
     
  10. fox

    fox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    4
    it takes a little while sometimes. check it again later and see if it is transcribed.

    also, you may have it set in the settings to NOT transcribe them. check the settings. i think google defaults to not transcribe because it kind of is an invasion of privacy.
     
  11. megush

    megush Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've found that all GV calls go to GV voicemail but when people call my actual cell phone # & leave a VM, it is on the Verizon VM server so that I have to deactivate GV, listen to the Verizon VMs & then reactivate GV...any ideas on what I might be doing wrong there?
     
  12. megush

    megush Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the best argument to get the GV # is that if you use the friends & family thing from Verizon (where non-Verizon #s don't eat your minutes) and add your GV incoming & outgoing #s you'll use so many fewer minutes on your plan each month. I've been watching our usage (I have GV, hubby doesn't but I use my phone for business) for the past few months since I got GV & we used to use 900-1100 minutes/month and now I'm shocked if we use 300
     
  13. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    DUH! Thanks! :) Somewhere along the line I must have turned off transcription and forgot about it. Just re-enabled...
     
  14. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    Dial *71 plus your gv# and all calls will go to gvm. *71 is busy/transfer and will forward all calls to gvm.
     

Share This Page

Loading...