Google Voice SMS question


Last Updated:

  1. Hamnrye

    Hamnrye Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've got Google Voice installed and setup to ask whether to dial on GV when placing a call. Is there a way to do the same with messaging without having to use the GV application?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jorenm

    Jorenm Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was wondering the same thing. I can tell you that google voice SMS will NOT push unless you also select that they be forwarded to the phone. This drives me crazy because I didn't pay for SMS thinking I'd just use GV.

    Email and google talk both push, so I don't know why GV does not.
     
  3. gadgetmom88

    gadgetmom88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    11
    When I went into my contacts and selected a person to send a text message to, it asked me if I wanted to send via google voice or message app. Try it that way and see what happens.
     
  4. jhat3k1

    jhat3k1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    14
    I keep hearing people say that they have to wait 5 minutes for texts to come through. This is not the case for me. I have conversations in real time with my texts the same as I would with carrier messaging. I don't have any special settings that I know of....I am just saving $20.
     
  5. syntrix

    syntrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hmmm, this is going to get confusing for me then. I wish you could toggle sms independent of voice calls!
     
  6. jhat3k1

    jhat3k1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    14
    Usually your first time sending a message after you install GV will prompt a pop that asks you if you want to use GV or messaging. If you don't check "use each time" it will ask you every time.
     
  7. syntrix

    syntrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    303

    I get this, even have the switcher app installed.

    I'd like to use GV for voice 100% of the time.

    I'd like to use my handset's number for sms/mms 100% of the time.

    I have it now set to "ask", but it's just another step that could be eliminated!
     
  8. jhat3k1

    jhat3k1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    14
    I am doing the exact same thing. I dropped my carrier texting today, And am using my GV number 100% of the time.
     
  9. thereason00

    thereason00 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's fine and dandy, and I did get this prompt when i first tried sending a text to a contact, but i hit the option to always send from my carrier number, because it said that you can change that later in the settings if you change your mind. So, my mind has been changed, yet I can't change the setting like it claimed. I can't find any option anywhere for it.

    Do you know how I can get that prompt back so it asks me if I want to send through messaging or GVoice?

    Thanks!
     
  10. Jorenm

    Jorenm Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you do it through the google voice app, or through the droid SMS app? If you're using the SMS app, are you sure you're not being billed?
     
  11. jhat3k1

    jhat3k1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    14
    No, I am using the GV app. The only downside is it doesn't support MMS, but I can use email for that. It's worth saving $20 to me, and the app works great, has plenty of options, and was just updated again on the market. Google Voice is the shiznit. I can't wait until they offer their own VoIp service through GV.
     
  12. Jorenm

    Jorenm Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm. My google voice only does the updates every 5 minutes. Can you check your configs and see if there's anything that might be making it push?
     
  13. syntrix

    syntrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    303
    click the GV app. Click menu
    click settings
    click the "making calls" option.

    Make your selection for prompts/noprompts/nouse/internationalcalls
     
  14. thereason00

    thereason00 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's for calling, we're talking about texting.
     
  15. syntrix

    syntrix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    303
    OK, thought you were talking about in general.
     

Share This Page

Loading...