Google Voice Voicemail?


Last Updated:

  1. phenixdragon

    phenixdragon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just picked up a Nexus One last week and love it so far. But when I first set it up, I configured it to use my Google VoOice for Voicemail. But I changed my mind and rather use T-mobile's voicemail. I changed the settings (Settings / Call settings / Voicemail service) from Google Voice to My carrier, but it didn't seem to take the change. I have toggled the setting several times and still has not helped. Any ideas?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Hegemony

    Hegemony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    23
    You probably set up conditional call forwarding by typing in a string of numbers, right? I think that's your problem. Log into your GV account and next to the phone number in settings, there should be a link to disable Google Voice voicemail on that phone. Click it and it should tell you what to type into the phone to cancel call forwarding.
     
  3. phenixdragon

    phenixdragon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just checked and it's not enabled.

    I also noticed that the phone number listed in the phone for the voicemail number is not my phone number. I keep changing it to my phone number but it looks like when I turn the phone off and on it reverts back. I did buy this phone from someone who got it from Google at the TED Conference so I think the number in there was from the SIM card that they gave with the phones.
     
  4. phenixdragon

    phenixdragon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did just try to enable it via the instructions on the GV settings page and then disable it and it looks like what fixed it.

    But now I am wondering, how can I get it to keep the Voicemail settings number changed to the correct number?
     
  5. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    i wish i could use gv voicemail, but flexpay doesnt let you.. grrr
     
  6. oniongirl

    oniongirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    9
    I wish I could use Google Voice services but I live in the UK. And Navigation would be nice. Sigh. I'm so jealous of all your problems.
     
  7. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    sorry inion. hopefully you will get it soon :)
     
  8. phenixdragon

    phenixdragon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    All in due time. Soon enough, they will own us all via all their services.
     
  9. hotdogwater

    hotdogwater Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have to say i like the google voicemail. it transcribes pretty decent.
     
  10. afine1

    afine1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    1
    it is the right number. voicemail is not your cell number. it is a number that is assigned to your phone.

    decent is not even close. i have to interpret everything it transcribes. i can usually get what they are trying to say but it is still no where close. i will admit that it is funny to read them. i think we should start a post with what google transcribed vs what was actually said. my girlfreind left me a message about my dog and i thought she was dead. all i could make out of google voice (when reading it) was "your dead dog". that wasn't cool google! but at least now i get a chuckle out of it. (a small one)
     
  11. phenixdragon

    phenixdragon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like what I thought was an issue wasn't. The number it showed in the VM was an 805 number which is to T-mobile. And when dialing 1, it was coming up with an error but apparently, you have to hold down the 1 button and it dials your voicemail properly. Never knew since I am new to T-mobile and every other carrier I have had you VM number in the phone was your own number. And you could press 1 and then dial and it would dial your VM.
     
  12. drhill

    drhill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    186
    Make sure you rate the transcribes. It will only get better.
     
  13. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    I looove Google vmail! Its win not having that stupid indicator all the time!
     

Share This Page

Loading...