Google VoiceGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    anyone use this google voice app on the eris??
     

    Advertisement
  2. ttran97

    ttran97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    82
    I use it. It's great now that google fixed that problem with the network error. I get free unlimited txt so i dont even pay vzw for a txt plan.
     
  3. Axsuul

    Axsuul Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am. It works great, just need push notifications. The contact picture that displays when you're calling a contact isn't working perfectly either.
     
  4. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2

    how is that possible probably a dumb question.

    someone asked if i had google voice i don't even know what it is really
     
  5. ttran97

    ttran97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    82
    Texting with the google voice app is sent as data. Since we already pay $30 per month for unlimited data, might as well use it. When my friends reply, i get an email pushed to gmail so it is pretty much instantaneous.

    You should watch the video at http://www.google.com/voice and see all the cool stuff you can do with GV.
     
  6. swe3t23

    swe3t23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    2
    cool smart. You have to be invited
     
  7. Jrood

    Jrood Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    invites are strictly through google, just sign up it take 2-4 weeks. Or you can buy one off ebay. The reason people ask for invites on the site is because only U.S is covered ATM and only some area codes, people that have gotten invites and can't use them or don't want a diff area code give them away.
     
  8. enkode

    enkode Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is anyone else having Network Errors as of about a week ago "starting 25 December"? I cant text or make calls from my phone. HELP!
     
  9. stinkyadv

    stinkyadv Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Since I installed GV, I can't get my voicemail notification symbol out of the notification area. Any ideas?
     
  10. cliffwoolley

    cliffwoolley New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. hrbib21

    hrbib21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    34
    I tried it out the other night. Not using it now. That should tell you what I think.
     
  12. bigdroid

    bigdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    7,112
    Likes Received:
    132
    I have it and have enjoyed it when I use it. I have not been comfortable enough to go full time yet. I do like getting and email for my voicemails though. Got rid of VZ visual voice mail. If anyone is looking for a Google Voice invite I still have 2 left. Send me a PM
     
  13. W4LLY

    W4LLY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    36
    I set one up with a new number. I made it a NY area code, and will use it as my business line. For my profesional stuff, people can call that number, clients, ect. For my friends and family, they use my regular number.

    I think the voicemail transcription is funny. I can only imagine having that job of listening to e-mails and then writing them down for people (assuming it's not done by machines o.o). I have a funny transcription.

    I like being able to have a sperate voicemail, being able to screen calls, ect.
     
  14. antnyp85

    antnyp85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    Soo heyy umm, anyone have any invites they feel like giving? :) Cuz that would be really really cool of ya lol, antnyp85@gmail.com
    *Edit: Disregard, someone sent me one, thanks!!!*
     
  15. cheffern

    cheffern Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0

    This is what I had hoped to do, but when people reply to an SMS I send through google voice, google voice sends the SMS to my google voice number (which is good) BUT google voice also sends an SMS to my actual mobile number (which costs me 20 cents, which i would like to avoid).

    do you know how to avoid SMS messages being sent to my actual mobile number? thanks
     
  16. ttran97

    ttran97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    82
    You need to go into the Google Voice settings on the computer. Click Settings and then the Phones tab. Next, edit your cell phone and uncheck that box that forwards SMS to your cell.

    Either do that or set your cell as a "work" phone and not a "mobile". The benefit of doing that is so you can have two Google Voice numbers forward to your cell, as opposed to only one if you set your cell number as "mobile"
     
  17. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    Can you make and recieve calls use gv? I installed it and it ask me when i make a call if i want to use it, when i say yes, it says ok and doesnt connect though. And it never ask me when i get a call to take it as google voice (should it?)
     
  18. ttran97

    ttran97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    82
    Yes, you can make calls using GV. Once you install GV (the official app...there are other apps with similar names that aren't from Google), you can add a shortcut that will let you toggle whether you want to use GV for either: All calls, international calls, asks whether to use for each call, or no calls. You have to keep pressing that toggle to cycle through the options.

    I have mine set for all calls. So then I just use People and click a name to call. You can also directly dial by pressing the Phone button. You'll see that GV dials a bridging number, usually 916 area code. That way, you know that it's working and the person you're calling will see your Google Voice number.

    You will receive calls made to your Google Voice numbers every time someone dials that number. That's dependent on your Google Voice settings on the computer (or web).
     
  19. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    Ok so to receive calls on your phone via gv the person has to call your gv number. If they do, or if i call using gv, can i record the convo? If so how?
     
  20. ttran97

    ttran97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    82
    Yes, the other person has to call your GV number.

    Recording is only available when you receive an incoming call to your GV number. Press 4 after you pick up. You will both hear a voice that says something like "This call is being recorded". Probably a legal thing that forced Google to add that.

    You can playback the recording, as well as voicemail, from the Google Voice App on your phone. The volume for that is Media, so make sure you turn that up. You can set it to either play through the earpiece or the phone's speaker...settings in the GV app too.

    Edit:
    I don't remember if I mentioned earlier how to set GV to be your default texting number, but all you have to do when you first install Google Voice is go to People, click on someone's name, click "Send Message"...then a pop-up will ask which program to use. I made Google Voice the default. I really like the integration of Google Voice with everything. It's really almost transparent and you almost forget that you're using a whole different phone number.
     
  21. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Question, I've got my google voice number saved under ny friends and family.. will all calls made with gv now be free?I did mainly so i dont need to tell everyone the verizon number till i port att over.
     
  22. ttran97

    ttran97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    82
    If you did that, then all your outgoing calls (using Google Voice), will be free. Check your VZW account and make sure that you see your GV number as being the number dialed, instead of whoever it is that you're calling.

    If you want free incoming as well, you can change your setting on the computer to show your Google Voice number when you receive calls. Of course, if you do this, you lose the ability to know who is calling, unless you turn on Call Presentation, but I think that's a hassle.

    Edit: Make sure you add the bridging number to your "Friends & Family", not just your Google Voice number. The bridging number is the number that pops up when you call someone. Mine starts with a 916 area code.
     
  23. Haywire

    Haywire Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thats what i wanted to know.. thanks alot, ill have to see what my settings are, but i feel i should be good even if just outgoing calls are free.. i dont get that many incoming, thats mostly text and email.. i just wish there was a cheaper voice plan with that option. i just signed up today.. got my eris free at best buy :-D instantly. no mail in. quite nice.
     
  24. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    good info ttran, thank you
     
  25. lifeafter2am

    lifeafter2am Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, from looking at the phone during dialing it looks like it dials a bridging number (as someone else mentioned). So the question is do you add the bridging number or your GV number?
     

Share This Page

Loading...