• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

[Verizon] Google Wallet Guide: Avoid Secure Element Brick [Updated 5/25/13]

jmar

Nexican
Sep 27, 2010
San Jose, CA
Hey Y'all!

My guide to Google Wallet: Simple and fail-safe...here goes!

BACKGROUND

I have been using Google Wallet since December 27, 2011.

I have employed this method since December 27, 2011.

Other than Google's shutdown of the app when security issues disabled the app, I haven't had a single issue with Google Wallet.

GUIDE

1. Install Google Wallet: Google Wallet Thread on XDA: latest version always posted in OP

Credit: OneAn9ryN00b

2. Use Wallet.

3. When prepping for a ROM flash/factory reset first reset GWallet from within the app. After inputting your pin, tap the menu overflow button in the top right corner and choose Settings. Now, select Reset Google Wallet app. Confirm and let it do its thang!

This step is OPTIONAL. I do it because I'm weird like that.
4. Next, Navigate to Settings app--->Apps--->All--->Wallet: Wipe Data

5. Now, backup Google Wallet app using Titanium Backup (buy this app!; best tool for all app backups). Because this app requires root, you will have to find an alternative if you are not rooted. You could also just sideload Google Wallet as you did the first time you downloaded it.

6. Wipe data, et al/Factory Reset.

7. Restore (DO NOT restore data!)/sideload app

8. Setup Google Wallet from scratch.

Profit!

jmar

P.S. If I've made any errors, please let me know ASAP!

Ultimately, I take no responsibility for a Secure Element Error and am only trying to help my fellow Wallet users.

Hope I helped.

Contributions to this guide from: NSutherl, jova33, efApple, AndroidDad75, and AntimonyER.

THANKS Y'ALL!

so i installed it, and have been waiting for a chance to use it. i got through the drive through, hand the girl at the window my card, then i see the pay pass.

missed opportunities lol