"Got 2.1? OMG! Don't blink or u'll lose ur 3G!!!1!" ---> WTF?General


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Last Updated:

  1. cantare

    cantare Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    [​IMG]

    Is there any validity whatsoever to the above?

    This dire warning was plastered all over the main VZW device forums here recently. As data-wipe is a routine step when flashing a custom ROM, it certainly raised a few eyebrows in xda and other quarters. Now the posts are just gone...
     

    Advertisement
    AnotherHiggins likes this.
  2. batjeeper

    batjeeper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    17
    I did several hard reboots playing with root over the weekend and my phone is just as good as they day it arrived. I also did a reboot for a co-worker and his phone was fine as well. I'm not saying that 4 or 5 reboots is a good sampling, but this has not affected me.
     
  3. dreamsensei

    dreamsensei Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    I reverted to 100% stock from the first Froyo leak. Undid Root, reflashed the original image. No problems over here. Not entirely sure that counts, but just chiming in with my results.
     
  4. necosino

    necosino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    338
    For the amount that I have flashed, reprogrammed, etc. I can't say that this is valid at all. There may be rare cases where an issue was encountered, but I have yet to see it even once.
     
  5. heyeaglefn

    heyeaglefn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    54
    Haven't heard one person to have this problem, and if it was this big of an issues with Verizon tech's being puzzled then we would have heard something.

    What's the rule about posting false information?....
     
  6. Bug Splat

    Bug Splat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    34
    I flashed back to factory like 6 times wiping everything and never had this problem. 3G still going strong.
     
  7. TheSultan

    TheSultan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    255
    There isn't. Otherwise 87% of the people on this site would be gone :)
     
    waynester and jayefef like this.
  8. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    Including those that make up statistics :D
     
  9. TheSultan

    TheSultan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    255
    It just seems a little thin to me. I've rooted, and gone back, and rebooted many, many times. Plus, do moderators misspell "tuned"? I tend to think that 60% of the time they never do.
     
  10. MrSmoofy

    MrSmoofy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    97
    When I asked the OP about this they said it had something to do with Verizon's Activation after a factory reset.
     
  11. mrjinglesusa

    mrjinglesusa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    119
    It sounds like this is much ado about a select few devices (probably less than a handful) encountering a problem elicited from a very specific set of conditions not easily replicated.

    It is not, I repeat NOT simply due to running 2.1 and doing a factory reset. If it were, there would be hundreds of thousands of people on Android phones with no 3G service.

    I've done multiple factory resets while running 2.1 and have never had a problem. So have THOUSANDS upon THOUSANDS of others. It's an option in the settings menu. It's meant to be done.

    If this were as commonplace as it is implied to be, it would be all over the news and Verizon would put out a notice warning people.
     
  12. cantare

    cantare Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks...that jibes with my own experiences as well. I think a lot of us here and elsewhere have done resets/wipes without any apparent harm to our 3G connectivity.

    Re: posting false info etc, well, that was kind of my point. People make important decisions based on this type of stuff. So if someone in a position of authority takes it on himself to spam locked stickies in bold red type with alleged "inside info" implying most Android rooters/hackers/flashers are doing permanent damage to their phones, then that person has a duty to stay with the thread and either update with confirmation and details, or post a freaking retraction if they realize it was unsubstantiated BS.

    Trying to retromod your own misinformation into oblivion (A) is ineffective (b/c of twitter, trackbacks, reposts etc), (B) looks seriously @%$#ing weak and (C) leaves a lot of people very confused as to what the hell all that was about. :mad:
     
    ckelly33, AnotherHiggins and eyc like this.
  13. Skorpios1027

    Skorpios1027 Frell me dead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    231
  14. seVer

    seVer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    119
    I've only done 1 reset, and that was a couple months ago... never had a problem. I've known people with Incredible who have had to reset... never had a problem.

    If it were an internal issue, why would it be so spread across multiple phones, especially those from different manufacturers???? And even more so, only on phones that are sold by VZW?!
     
  15. AnotherHiggins

    AnotherHiggins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    55
    I completely agree with the OP.

    I started getting the Low Space warning last week. One of the most commonly cited "fixes" is to do a factory reset. Several hours after posting here for help (link) I saw the Sticky thread from a mod and thought, "I'm glad I saw *that* before hosing my phone".

    I checked back every day or two waiting for the OP to post an update. Nothing. Then today the whole thread is just gone with no explanation?

    That was very poorly handled.
     
    eyc likes this.
  16. Trooper

    Trooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,715
    Likes Received:
    541
    Ive reset my phone a bunch of times, no problem with getting data back afterward.
     
  17. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,381
    Likes Received:
    16,480
    I understand the doubts being voiced here, but to suggest that Trident made the post without good reason is frankly ridiculous. Unfortunately he's not around right now to answer himself but I'm sure he will as soon as circumstances i.e. life outside of AF allows. Until then I think it's best to temporarily close this thread, as his character and motives are being called into question in his absence.
     
  18. Trident

    Trident VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    The issue has since been resolved. I only posted that notice to help and warn the community to the best of my ability, excuse me for trying I guess.. :(

    This was a serious flaw in Verizon's system and I was only trying to warn you all. In the thread cited above, you can even see where some members are able to reproduce this issue. Also, if you guys actually read my post, it CLEARLY stated that it had only been occurring one day prior to me posting that thread. Let's all try to read a bit more carefully next time.. :rolleyes:

    Also, I'm still very curious as to why this thread was created in the first place.. I removed my thread yesterday.

    I'm very disappointed and hurt by everyone's rude behavior and personal attacks on me. Once again, sorry for trying to help. :(

    /Reopened.
     
    JustDroid and jayefef like this.
  19. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    Actually, Verizon did not fix the issue.

    There is another thread floating around here where the poster fixed it, and gave the solution.
     
  20. Trident

    Trident VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    2,307
    Care to link me?
     
  21. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
  22. Trident

    Trident VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,034
    Likes Received:
    2,307
  23. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    For those that are "bashing" Trident. Read
    http://androidforums.com/htc-incredible/141289-regarding-dont-factory-wipe-2-1-sticky-2.html

    Trident was simply relaying information that he got somewhere. Why on earth would any Moderator on this site purposely post bad information or ANY information they didnt seem to think was neccessary. Instead of bashing, why don't you do more research on your own. Not everyone is affected by this, but MANY are. Dont believe, call VZW Tech Support. Ask for a Tier 2 rep (good luck though...lol). They will verify this as they did with me. My Incredible did this and I was having 3G issues. These threads helped me get my problem resolved!

    So....to those who are HELPFUL, thanks for the information!!
     
    jayefef and Trident like this.
  24. adrynalyne

    adrynalyne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    885
    Its a solution to those who have lost data, yes.

    Its not a solution to Verizon's screwed provisioning system.

    Those two had also reactivated and not had it work. They had to do it themselves.

    I don't see how its not a solution. It clearly fixes it, and points the problem at Verizon and their provisioning setup.
     
  25. Jedii

    Jedii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,112
    Likes Received:
    257
    It is VZW provisioning with exsisting Alltel customers. That seems to be where the main problem lies. There are 12 million ported Alltel customers. Now, how many of those may have 2.1 android phones...don't know. But I can imagine a good handful. Now all it takes is for one of them to reset there phone. (Which is the #1 troubleshooting tip given by Tech support and customer service). So although no "solution" is found, the issue has been narrowed down.
     
    Trident likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...