Got some questions


Last Updated:

  1. ThrowingKnife

    ThrowingKnife Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm new to Android. I recently was an iPhone fan but thought that Android was a better alternative to iPhone. So anyway, I have a few questions about the Captivate. Does Android have support for apps that you can use to password protect certain apps on the phone? Like messages, and photos for more private stuff. Another question I have: is the Captivates reception really bad? I currently have the iPhone 4 while it doesn't have the best of signal, its not too bad either. And my last question is if the captivate has support for 32gb cards. I'm sorry if someones already gone over these but I could find anything right away. Anyways, I look forward to Android and the Captivate. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Clienterror

    Clienterror Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    1. I'm pretty sure there is, but I'll let someone else who knows more about it help you.

    2. It's kinda weird about reception, I came from an 3GS before the Captivate and the call quality IMO blows the iphone 3GS away (Don't know about iphone4). I've never had a dropped call, but my bars do go from like 3-4 to 2 sometimes but like I said I've never had it cut out or drop unlike my iphone sometimes it would like mute for a second or 2 randomly and sometimes drop for no reason seemingly. I don't know if this was just with my iphone or all of them but sometimes I would call someome and it would say "Calling" but it wouldn't do anything, I'd have to end the call and recall then it would actually ring.

    3. Yes it supports 32gb cards.

    Hope that helped some.
     
  3. ThrowingKnife

    ThrowingKnife Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply. I just ran across something that said that the phone doesn't have HSUPA? I have no clue as to what it really does but does, that mean it will have slower download speeds than the ip4? Or is it just not required? Thanks again
     
  4. Clienterror

    Clienterror Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    HSUPA is 3G data speeds. It does indeed have 3G. It is going to download just as fast as the ip4 with equal signal strength :)
     
    ThrowingKnife likes this.
  5. ajerman

    ajerman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    This isn't really true. 3G is simply UMTS. HSDPA is sometimes considered 3.5G (because technically it's 3G, but it's faster) and is a speed boost on the downlink side. HSUPA would also fall under 3.5G, but as you might guess, it's a speed boost on the uplink side.

    Until I see solid proof, or really any proof at all otherwise, I can only determine that the Captivate DOES NOT support HSUPA. I've had both, and my download speeds are the same, so the Captivate does have HSDPA support, but my upload speeds are always 300-400 Kbps compared to 1200-1300 on the iPhone 4.

    So Clienterror is right in saying you'll download just as fast, but you certainly won't upload as fast which gets a little annoying when trying to upload pictures. Hopefully it's something the radio is capable of and it's screwed up for some reason or not enabled and they can enable it in an update, but I'm not holding my breath. I'm very disappointed.
     
  6. ThrowingKnife

    ThrowingKnife Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it not say on the box?
     
  7. ajerman

    ajerman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    The box says HSDPA, as does the manual (online). No mention of HSUPA on either.
     
  8. mrcamp

    mrcamp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    11
  9. tsalem

    tsalem New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if the Captivate is capable of opening email attachments, excel attachments in particular?
     
  10. tsalem

    tsalem New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, just found out you need to download the app Quickoffice Captivate in the Android Marketplace. Once this is downloaded, you are able to open any attachment in email.
     

Share This Page

Loading...