GPS After Update - Same or Better?


After updating to the UCJH7 firmware, has GPS on your Captivate improved?

  1. Yes, I noticed an improvement that persists even after 3 days

    33 vote(s)
    35.9%
  2. No improvement after 3 days

    39 vote(s)
    42.4%
  3. After 3 days, GPS is even worse

    11 vote(s)
    12.0%
  4. Update fails and won't install for me.

    9 vote(s)
    9.8%

Last Updated:

  1. Cuerbo

    Cuerbo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    20
    Before you post, please make sure your tests do not involve assisted GPS. By this I mean, you have the "Use Wireless Networks" checked under location and security settings. Doing so invalidates a true GPS check. Also, when using Google Maps, are you seeing a steady satellite icon or a flashing one.
     

    Advertisement
  2. idilium

    idilium Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    10
    working
     
  3. harryzwd

    harryzwd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    using gps test my phone was able to find 2, then 4, then 8 satellites in about 30 seconds, then lock onto 4 of them in about another 30 seconds. signal strengths did fluctuate, but remained locked and gave me an accuracy reading of 16 feet.

    firing up google maps, i got a gps lock in under a minute, with a slight location correction in another 30 seconds (the triangle jumped to be more accurate to where i was) and i could tell it was slightly off...16-25 feet maybe? but i walked around my block and the gps stayed locked and oriented correctly the entire time. moving indoors caused the gps lock to fall off. welcome to the wonderful world of working gps - it's been a long time coming.
     
  4. Cuerbo

    Cuerbo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    20
    Wish I had the same luck...
     
  5. Loren

    Loren Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    19
    Mine works great - nails my location too.
     
  6. Mnemic

    Mnemic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Installed Update.
    Placed phone on windowsil inside building.
    Running GPS Test, Finds 6 sats indoors near a window after 45 seconds, 8 after that.
    It didn't lock until about 3 mins later.
    Accuracy after 6 mins was 32.8ft

    Coworker has an Epic, We had the phones side by side, saw the same sats, similar snr, but his locked, where mine wouldn't.

    Also The #*#*1472365*#*# no longer works.
     
  7. sdmania

    sdmania Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a completely stock captivate. No lag fix, no root. Installed the update this morning. Can't get lock without "use wireless networks box checked." With box checked I get lock pretty close to location within seconds. When I try and use turn by turn feature GPS is unable to find my location. The turn by turn is very frustrating as when I had my Incredible it locked on and worked perfectly.
     
  8. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    326
    Still doesn't work for me :(
     
  9. MonarchX

    MonarchX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used custom ROM from XDA called Cognition, which is pretty much latest update + Vibrant GPS fix, root, sideloading, voodoo lag fix, etc. GPS locks like a charm but Navigaton part sucks as it still loses signal once in a while. Its a hardware issue - don't expect a fix for it. People will buy this phone regardless and as long as people buy the phone - Samsung and AT&T could care less what issues it has. It could be a non-working brick, but if it sells - who cares? You're nobody to those people.
     
  10. 3gAndroid

    3gAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    26
    Mine works great. I tested and compared it against my Garmin that I use when hiking, it's a known quantity and very accurate. I posted the details of my update experience in the success poll here.

    It's wonderful to have a fully functional Captivate at last.

    Now I'll be selling my Droid X, since this Captivate fits my needs perfectly... :)
     
  11. Grut

    Grut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    I never used aGPS, just satellites. Before the update, I guess I was one of the lucky ones, I had no GPS issues, I was very pleased with it's performance. I would get a lock in 10 to 12 seconds. AFTER the update, I get locks even faster "5 to 7 seconds"! Just tried it out on an 18 mile ride home and Google Navigation worked flawlessly. I'm very happy with this update.
     
  12. Mnemic

    Mnemic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Lbstestmode | G Machine: Technology, Music, and Entertainment makes a lbstestmode shortcut.
    After the Update my settings have changed

    SUPL Settings
    AUTO Config
    Server (Greyed out) h-slp.mnc410.mcc310.pub.3gpp
    Server Port (Greyed out) 7275
    SUPL Secure Socket: ON
    AGPS Mode: SUPL

    Doesn't look like the Application Settings changed any however.
     
  13. sdmania

    sdmania Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too feel like it's a hardware issue but I can't figure out then why some people can get turn by turn GPS to work and others can't. This makes no sense to me.
     
  14. AvengerBB

    AvengerBB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    8
    The checkbox "use wireless networks" has nothing to do with aGPS.

    However, with that checkbox turned off, I get a lock in about 20 seconds where as before it could take 20 minutes.
     
  15. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Why not put a poll up on this thread?
     
  16. Grut

    Grut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4

    I agree, it HAS to be a hardware issue. Some people are very pleased with the GPS performance and some people are ready to murder. Makes no sense....
     
  17. AOPoster

    AOPoster Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is pretty much my exact situation. I was never able to get a lock without "use wireless networks" both pre and post update. For the people reporting success here, did your GPS always work even before today's update?
     
  18. prw

    prw New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Working.:)
     
  19. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    Working better. I get a within 50 meter lock within 20 seconds. Within 10 meter lock in ~60 secs. My sat icon on the notification bar stops its animation and becomes steady a little after 60 seconds. Although it did move me around a bit at first but after a few seconds had me pegged good. This was all thru google maps, up to date, with use wireless networks disabled. The sky is partly cloudy as well. To me it is working just as well if not better than my 3GS.

    UPDATE: Locks on much faster now since it's not a "cold" start. Satellite icon also becomes steady much faster. I have not tested this with google navigation as I don't use it that much. I use google maps for directions but I don't like turn-by-turn, for one it sucks up battery freakin fast, but mainly just because I don't need it.
     
  20. bmoliver

    bmoliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    12
    Working so far. Get lock in about 15 seconds (using both Gmaps or GPS Status app) with up to 11/11 satellites and accuracy down to 5 meters.
     
  21. rfound

    rfound Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Oytdoors, its working for me. It dropped my track a couple times in the car tho (Wireless network use is turned off).

    But in the end, I think its to the point where if it was like this when it was new, there would be no "GPS Problem"... I'll play with it a bit more using google navigation.
     
  22. roush611

    roush611 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    20
    Mine is working perfect now.
     
  23. twill812

    twill812 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same
     
  24. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    I say we won't really know until its been a few days. Remember alot of people had working gps for the first few days then it crapped out.
     
  25. bmoliver

    bmoliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    12
    True!
     

Share This Page

Loading...