GPS and Battery Life


Last Updated:

  1. dvalmont

    dvalmont Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    I just want to bounce this off some other Hero users and hopefully verify that i'm on the right page here.

    A month or so back I started running mine with GPS toggled ON all the time. (For apps to find a lost Hero it seemed the only effective way to find it was if GPS was on). GPS is not powered (or maybe very low powered?) UNLESS the GPS Symbol is showing at top of screen?
    I've noticed NO difference in battery life with GPS toggled ON vs OFF over the last month. GPS (when toggled ON) appears to be actually turned on or off by particular Apps that use it.
    Anyone? Am I correct??

    It seems to be "common knowledge" and I think Android even says to toggle it OFF to save battery life but this seems to be not true?

    I DO have an App that does turn GPS on but does NOT turn it off when I exit, which does drain the battery until I manually correct, which could be a problem, but I do see the GPS icon so I know it's on and draining.
     

    Advertisement
  2. BlackedOut

    BlackedOut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    7
    It should use a little more power when it is toggles on. While it is on, it has to keep track of satellite locations for easier locating when it does power up for an app. So I wouldn't think the drain would be much more significant unless you are in an app that is using it a lot.
     
  3. randel77

    randel77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been wondering about this also. I will try leaving it on and report back. With recovery apps like wavesecure you can turn on the gps remotely. So, if that is your only reason for keeping it on, it's really not necessary.
     
  4. NewShockerGuy

    NewShockerGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same here, noticed no difference in battery life at all.
    From now on I always keep it on. I waste more time going back to the widget and switching it ON than to just leave it on.

    -Nigel
     
  5. jmxp69

    jmxp69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    121
    How do you remotely turn GPS on with Wavesecure? I just scoured the Wavesecure portal and didn't see an option to do that.

    Thanks...
     
  6. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    Yes, absolutely correct. The GPS antenna is only put into function when an app specifically calls for it.

    Well, the default function of most of the Sense settings is that all the apps are using location data, pooling frequently for updates, etc., so the assumption is that it is ON and if you wanted to eliminated some battery usage you could leave those settings on and not use the GPS to obtain location data. It's possible, but doesn't work as well.

    Which app? Most I use DO turn it off... you should contact the developer and make it known that is an issue/fault with coding that could probably be corrected... ;)

    All in all, I leave the GPS enabled always and have not experienced any battery drain for it. I use a few GPS apps and they work awesome... :)

    Happy Trails!
    :cool:
     
  7. dvalmont

    dvalmont Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    The one that does it to me is that "Movies" Flixster app. I know it's popular so I was kind of surprised. In fairness i'm sure i'm at least one update behind on it so maybe it's already corrected.
     
  8. eyebeam

    eyebeam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5,418
    Likes Received:
    3,091
    I also leave GPS on all the time and have not noticed any adverse effect on my battery life.

    As for Movies by Flixster, I use it quite a bit and, at least for me, it doesn't leave the GPS on. Weird.:confused:
     
  9. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    +++1

    I use that as well and it doesn't stick the GPS... weird, try uninstalling the app and reinstall it. Hope that'll clear it up for ya'. Is that the only app to hang the GPS? if it is more than one app, maybe it might be a hardware issue... maybe?

    :cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...