GPS Broke


Last Updated:

  1. geezman

    geezman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK, I think my Droid broke. I have not been able to get a GPS lock all day. I've rebooted and did a battery pull with no luck. It just sits there looking for GPS satellites non-stop. I've checked using GPS Status and on the bottom section it just shows the circling arrow like it doesn't even connect to the GPS circuit. Has anyone else seen this? :confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. JDMS33

    JDMS33 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok sounds silly but do you have wifi on? I have had that happen and then i put on my wifi and it works...turn wifi off and it keeps working...
     
  3. pbwhite

    pbwhite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have seen this twice, and some other GPS related anomalies.

    Both times, I tried reboots, unsuccessfully, and after 'baking' the GPS - leaving it outside for at least 20 minutes - it finally figured itself out.

    I have a feeling it's something to do with stale almanac data, and no way to force the GPS to discard that stale data, and refresh it.

    One other time, it showed incorrect location, and claimed it was locked onto enough satellites to give it accurate information.
     
  4. Telstar_2112

    Telstar_2112 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    I also have gps issues as of late. has a lock but position is off by a few hundred miles.
     
  5. geezman

    geezman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1

    Tried this with no luck. I left it searching on my way into work today and it was unable to get a lock for the entire 1 hour drive. Not sure what to do now.
     
  6. jdb

    jdb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    4
    If I remember correctly...I think I remember somebody posting that holding the phone and doing like a figure eight motion in the air helps recalibrate the gps. I don't know if this is exactly what i read...something along those lines. Maybe use a different search term, like recalibration or something (if you havn't already). Hope I helped and didn't confuse...
     
  7. 2fasst

    2fasst Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    doing figure 8 calibrates your compass, not gps
     
  8. hastings

    hastings Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    geezman...you are outside, right? I've had issues when inside, and even times in the car where it would be off by hundreds of miles. But step outside and I could get a good lock. What program are you using? I've had an issue one or twice with TripComputer where it wouldn't find a satellite. Try using a different program and see if it finds some.
     
  9. geezman

    geezman Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1

    Yes, I've been outside for over an hour today and still nothing. GPS Status is showing only 2 satellites at most, but mostly only 1.



    EDIT: OK, out of the blue, it started working and I'm getting up to 11 satellite locks now. Weird.
     

Share This Page

Loading...