GPS dongle ordered!General

1. critcher

critcher Well-Known Member

Yay!

Go here - https://vip.asus.com/login.aspx

I had to register my Prime first (should have done it months ago! :rolleyes: ), but it immediately told me to apply for the dongle.

Advertisement
  2. rushmore

rushmore Well-Known Member

The fix seems kind of silly, considering it impacts the normal use of the device and the add-ons for it. A lot bigger than expected too.
  3. chris4x4

chris4x4 Well-Known Member

Ive been registered, and I ordered the GPS enhancment device (I refuse to call it a "dongle"). We'll see how long it takes to arive.
  4. critcher

It does seem big. I might never use it, tbh, but I figured better to have it than not. It will live in the car, on the assumption that if I need GPS I won't be at home...

Seems to me that they could have had the dongle plug into the tablet, and then a socket in the dongle for the dock to plug into. But what do I know, I'm not a techie! :confused:
  5. ylexot

ylexot Well-Known Member

You would think that as bulky as they made it, they would have had it improve wifi performance as well...and included a pass-through for charging.
  6. rushmore

rushmore Well-Known Member

True dat. The Prime could have went from weak to mega wifi with the dongle.

Shame the two types of signals have different characteristics, but perhaps could have been done in parallel in the attachment. Perhaps would have cost more than they wanted.

My guess is that due to the lower volume of sales, the returns, dongle and customer service costs, the Prime already was in the red. A mega dongle would have made it deeper red.
  7. EasyEEE

EasyEEE Well-Known Member

I've been registered for a couple of months - logged in right now - not seeing the damn link anywhere :\
  8. Gadgetnut68

Gadgetnut68 Member

The link is on the left side about 3/4 of the way down on the VIP login.
  9. Gadgetnut68

Gadgetnut68 Member

Out of curiosity, where are the pics for the "dongle "?