GPS FIX has been released on the Captivate


Last Updated:

  1. texphone

    texphone Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Official word from Samsung Sept 22, 2010:


    An update to improve the Samsung Captivate's GPS performance is now available. Captivate customers will receive a notification on their device that an update is available and will simply need to download the file to update their phone. The updates will be pushed to customers’ devices over the next few weeks.

    The update for the Captivate will also improve additional device functions, such as media scanning time, add the full version of Quickoffice and address Microsoft Exchange 2003 policy support.

    -----------------------

    So obvious question is when for other phones? Are they going to cycle one brand at a time because of server load - each brand taking 2 weeks? So the whole thing could take 8 weeks?
     

    Advertisement
  2. melll

    melll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    35
    So glad I dont have any of the 3rd party lag fix on my phone.

    Just to be sure that it works without a hitch.

    Now Im all excited to see this news. Vibrant fix soon to come!
     
  3. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    So we hope anyway. Bugs me that we didn't get it first, since our phone was out first.
     
  4. melll

    melll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    35
    Yeah thats a big let down... But it gives me hope that they are working on ours now. If they release it this month, I wont be dissapointed at all.
     
  5. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    If they release it this month, I'll be shocked! :eek:

    I will say that the GPS situation seems to be better with the custom ROM I installed, though I haven't tested it on the road yet. The last fix I tried, taken from a leaked ROM, was accurate at times but had a nasty tendency to drift quite badly.
     
  6. TMoVibrant

    TMoVibrant Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hope they post the fix for the Samsung Vibrant.
     
  7. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    I own the captivate. Todays update didn't fix any kind of gps issue
     
  8. boomerbubba

    boomerbubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    40
    It may be that yesterdays' rollout of the alleged GPS fix was not there at all, at least to end users.

    Quite an unseemly mess. Can the credibility of any of these players (Samsung, the carriers, Engadget, etc.) possibly get any worse?
     
  9. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165

    Oh goodness who am i going to believe, Samsung's official twitter and Facebook or some guy who claims he had a conference call with a Samsung rep. Even if the guy really had a conference call with Samsung rep, we all know how accurate those reps are. I guarantee you one hundred percent that rep gave him false info. I know for a fact because i called at&t today, and at&t did a conference call with Samsung ceo. The ceo was on a private jet flying to Korea but he took my call anyways, he ppromised me captivated update did include the gps optimization. So beat that!!!!

    What's more troublesome is people posting "my gps works now!!!!". Then a few hours later same people are posting my "oh shit my gps is slowly starting not to work again"

    maybe the hardware cache issue that epic users and others have been saying is true, it might just be a hardware cache underrun type error. Remember like ten years ago, if your cd burner didn't have enough available cache, you would get cache underrun errors, no firmware could fix this, it was purely hardware. Maybe the galaxy s really does suffer from hardware cache issues, only to work at first then fail within hours to days of work. Common theme going on with epic, fasinate, captivate, and even vibrant owners have said gps works at first only to stop working a few days later or needing a reboot, sounds like hardware cache issues to me.
    Only time will tell when we get our update!!!
     
  10. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    I dont see what the big problem is with restarting your phone from time to time..i mean it is after all a computer..and isnt it good to clear it out from time to time? I know i restart my phone atleast once every day or so. also when im not using my GPS, i have GPS turned off.

    also if it were a hardware problem (which i would like to add i doubt it is) you bet your butt that samsung had better be in order to fix the problem and send us new devices, pending we return our old ones.
     
  11. psz

    psz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    27
    Actually, most of those CD-Rom buffer underrun errors COULD be fixed via software, as long as the driver and burning software were updated accordingly.
     
  12. tlwarnke

    tlwarnke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know why the update didn't improve your GPS but it sure did mine. Get a fix in my house in less than 15 seconds. In my basement in under 25 seconds. Outside 5 seconds. Took up to several minutes before when outside. Now I'll have to see if it loses a fix like it would before. Have the Captivate. I did have to do a search for updates as it wasn't pushed out to my phone yet.
     
  13. Ryan33569

    Ryan33569 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am tired of samsung's crap and not fixing neither the lag or gps issue on time. When do I consider "on time" to be? Well, I dont recall signing up to be a beta tester, nor do I recall us getting any kind of money to test the phones so therefore the problem should have been fixed before the initial release date. You wouldn't buy something from walmart that didnt work 100% and wait for it to be fixed whenever they feel like doing it. It is always nice having the phone lock up or gps not working so that my Iphone friends can laugh at me. I know some say "just be happy it makes calls" but then if I just wanted to make calls I could have saved a few hundred with a flip phone. FIX YOUR PHONE SAMSUNG!
     
  14. jth747

    jth747 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the update yesterday, thought it was gonna brick my phone, did some weird stuff, now it's a little flaky and battery life seems worse, did not fix the gps, got a fast lock the first time and since then it's worse than before. Highly recommend not installing this update.
     
  15. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    so we're beta testers now? COOL! where are my royalties?

    but in all seriousness, i understand what youre saying.
     
  16. mavictb

    mavictb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    15
    sigh I just want 3ft accuracy on my gps for hiking... its not that big of a deal but boy it sure would be nice.
     
  17. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    3 feet?! I have a Delorme PN-60 and the best I get is 6 feet. Close enough for geocaching/hiking to be sure. :) Heck, I'd be happy if we could see the Vibrant at 10' accuracy.
     
  18. mavictb

    mavictb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    15
    ok maybe I was being overzealous lol 6-10 feet would be more then good enough.
     
  19. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    nope it couldn't. Increasing the cache was the only real fix for cd Rom burners.
     
  20. maikel33016

    maikel33016 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    will you get the update if your phone is rooted?
     
  21. w_bovine

    w_bovine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    147
    I haven't seen any reason to think otherwise.
     

Share This Page

Loading...