GPS Hardly Ever WorksGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. eLMo

    eLMo Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I live in NYC, whenever I use maps it never find my location. Tells me when we find it we'll tell you bullshit message. Since I got the phone it found my location once. Is this a normal problem? Yes I activated the GPS the logo shows up on top of the screen. Raised the phone out my sunroof maybe that would help but nothing :( Should I just call up T-Mo and get a replacement since I've had this problem and a dead pixel since I got the phone. Also could it be a problem with powermanager?
     

    Advertisement
  2. robsclone

    robsclone Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had a lot of problems with GPS not finding my location, but rebooting the phone usually does the trick.

    Next time i'll also just try disabling/enabling GPS to see if that gets it going again, also.
     
  3. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    Since getting the G1 in October, I have had two days where I just could not get a GPS fix no matter what I did. I rebooted, turned the settings on and off but no joy. Other than that, I have the GPS on most days when I am out in the car and it works flawlessly.

    If the green GPS icon is animating, then it has not yet got a fix on your location. If the GPS icon is there and remains static, then it has negotiated a position via the satellites.
     
  4. danielbb

    danielbb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try the gps tracker application, it tells you how many satellites are in view and the accuracy. I get within 3 metres all of the time.:D

    Its so reliable i made a website that shows my location 24/7
     
  5. ChilledMatt

    ChilledMatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    within 3m is not possible. gps is only accurate to within 25m when functioning 100%. This is a restriction imposed by the military.
     
  6. Ageless Stranger

    Ageless Stranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    49
    If I stand in my garden and look on google maps with satellite view, it shows me in the garden. If I walk through my house and through to the other garden, it shows me on the other side of the house. I know the journey from one side of the house to the other is not 25m.

    The military implemented Selective Availability when GPS first became public because they saw it as a security risk (they see everything as a security risk, totalitarianism?) and included "extra" false position data in civilian GPS limiting its accuracy to about 150ft. However, civilians complained and the Federal Aviation Administration implemented Differential GPS which is accurate down to 2 meters. This was helped with coast guards and nautical users asking for more accurate GPS.
     
  7. ChilledMatt

    ChilledMatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    Cool, I stand corrected.
     
  8. Buckethead

    Buckethead New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, worldwide Selective Availability was turned off entirely in the year 2000, when the Army developed a technology that allows them to selectively turn off GPS within a small geographic area only (like the battlefield they are on at the moment). The explosion of consumer GPS products since then is a byproduct of SA being turned off, no one would settle for a car GPS that couldn't get your position with 100 feet.

    Differential GPS is different, basically the GPS takes a reading on its own position and then compares that to another reading taken at a base station nearby. The exact location of the base station serves as a reference, the difference between the base station's reading and the GPS's reading is used to correct for any errors in the GPS reading.
     
  9. rant13

    rant13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same problem when 1st got the G1 one up till now ;). At first my signal was about a mile a then it changed to 2 :eek:. I couldn't believe it. So I did the whole powering of the phone and resetting as suggested (the typical IT tech answer, I should known better I am one:D). And I thought I turned off the GPS. But when I went into GMAPS and it gave me that bogus local. I clicked the nub under the menu button and my setting came up and it showed wireless on. :confused: Flipped it off, then loaded Instamapper application went outside and see if it picked me up. Hwhalla, I got the solid, after 1 1/2 months-o-frustration :D. I then went back inside the building and is went solid after syncing too. Now big-brother (or bill collectors
     

Share This Page

Loading...