gps is turning on mobile dataSupport


Last Updated:

  1. bluedragon7

    bluedragon7 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    When I turn on GPS and then rmaps (offline only), mobile data will turn on by itself a minute later. I have location from wireless networks turned OFF. The strange thing is I can't even turn off mobile network without a restart. If I try to turn it off it will just turn on by itself again. Does anyone know why?
    I have Legend 2.1 update 1
     

    Advertisement
  2. dekky

    dekky Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem without solution...
    You can just switch to airplain mode then switch back and it will turn off
    Mobile network...but it not a full solution....
    Its a real bug that bugs me big time....
     
  3. bluedragon7

    bluedragon7 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK i will try the airplane mode next time thanks!
    anyone else have this problem?
     
  4. zappa420

    zappa420 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    get an apn widget and just turn off your apn that way the mobile network can't connect
     
  5. kor0

    kor0 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here.
    I'm running 2.1 Build 1.31.405 (update 1 is not available in my country I think).
    Whenever an app starts the mobile network data plan by itself you can't turn it off.
    Right now I'm either restarting or going to Airplane Mode and back.
     
  6. bluedragon7

    bluedragon7 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    anyone else? i think i'll write to htc soon...
     
  7. acwest

    acwest New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed this myself. The worst part, I think, is I had created a dummy APN with invalid values, which was selected, but somehow the phone was using the original APN to send data, even though the dummy was selected. I have since installed APNDroid, which should ensure that there are NO valid APNs configured on the phone. I'm not too happy about this, as it doubled my cell phone bill for the month
     
  8. lilorio

    lilorio New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've noticed the exact same thing on my Legend aswell! I use an app called NetCounter which allows me to see the amount of data i used through wifi in one day, one week and one month aswell as the amount of mobile data i've used in a day, week and month.
     
  9. drleach

    drleach New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try going into settings-wireless and networks-mobile networks and uncheck the box "enable always-on mobile data". This not only saves battery, but I have never had a problem with GPS leaving the data connection open.

    DRL
     
  10. bluedragon7

    bluedragon7 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    That has never been turned-on on my phone... what's your sw version?
     
  11. drleach

    drleach New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

    FW 2.1 build 1.31.405.5

    DRL
     
  12. bluedragon7

    bluedragon7 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    i think most of us with the mobile network problems are running 2.05 or 2.06 (2.1 update 1) correct me if i'm wrong? I've been having another radio problem: I'm having no signal ("x" on the signal bars) when leaving mobile network on for a prolonged period of time (5+ hours).
     

Share This Page

Loading...