GPS issues or Fixed with american release?


Last Updated:

  1. Jreitnauer7

    Jreitnauer7 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone tested the GPS yet? It appears that a lot of people have complained about the GPS on the SGS. How is the GPS working on the captivate?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Regalicious

    Regalicious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    20
    I just got mine but it appears the gps cant find my location grrr
     
  3. magicdanw

    magicdanw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like GPS stuff is still an issue, but someone said they found a hidden menu on the phone that lets you set the GPS to cold boot or something, and that helps a lot. Basically, it sounds like a software issue, that could be fixed in the near future. Maybe this'll also help you out in the short run.

    possible gps fix - Android @ MoDaCo
     
  4. Regalicious

    Regalicious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    20
    II actually take that back. It didn't wuork when i was inside but now it's working fine outside
     
  5. Surfer

    Surfer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    11
    Oh okay! Thanks. And would that be Google or AT&T navigate?
     
  6. Regalicious

    Regalicious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    20
    Google maps
     
  7. pkulak

    pkulak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    How's the accuracy? My Nexus one could get within 8 meters (sometimes even 6) at my house. What kind of accuracy are you seeing?
     
  8. Regalicious

    Regalicious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    20
    I didn't get a chance to really play with it ... it doesn't work inside though. I'm home right now and I just get no GPS signal.
     
  9. supahgreg

    supahgreg Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe I had to check "Use wireless networks" to get mine going. It is under Settings -> Location and security.
     
  10. pkulak

    pkulak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow. That's really bad...
     
  11. MrTony

    MrTony Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    I must not be understanding what you're talking about here. GPS won't work inside your house, it's a line-of-sight system. Without a clear view of the sky, you can't track the satellites. A-GPS will work inside, but it's not as nearly accurate as it isn't "true" GPS.
     
  12. pkulak

    pkulak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, GPS can work fine in buildings. Not in a basement or anything, buy one wooden roof is fine.

    I think you are confusing agps with SkyHook. Agps just uses cell towers to download satellite position data quickly. It makes getting locks quicker and has nothing to do with accuracy.
     
  13. MrTony

    MrTony Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    You're right, I was confusing A-GPS with the triangulation method cellular providers use to determine your location, which is wildly different from GPS fixes. I've never been very successfull in getting fixes inside buildings, although I admit I was always using older gear such as the Touch Pro.

    So the Captivate is giving trouble obtaining satellite position quickly or is it having a problem receiving the actual signal?
     
  14. Donaldkbart

    Donaldkbart Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried the possible fix posted above but still not working hopefully software fix soon has anyone read anything
     
    pkulak likes this.
  15. radi0chik

    radi0chik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    16
    I had NO problems with my gps locking to satellites the minute I turned on google maps. It was almost instantly.
     
    pkulak likes this.
  16. Regalicious

    Regalicious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    20
    Grr mine is still finicky. I tried several times outside of my apartment today to get a location lock and it just kept saying "your location is temporarily available". Yesterday while I was out and about, though, it was working fine. Hrmph. (It was never instant as radi0chik's was though)
     
  17. MrTony

    MrTony Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    I sure do hope Samsung is working feverishly on a fix. Just from the randomness of the issues, my gut wants to say it's a firmware configuration issue that could be fixed with an OTA or wired update. Had issues similar to this in the past on some of my HTC equipment that was quickly rooted out and fixed with custom ROMs also.
     
  18. YellowGT0

    YellowGT0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    22
    My GPS I have used it like 4 times locks almost instantly outside and works like a charm
     
  19. Regalicious

    Regalicious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    20
    I found out that by turning both wireless towers (cell tower) triangulation and the GPS radio on, all my problems go away. If I have only the GPS on half the time it takes forever to find me or fails to find me. With both on it's almost instant. This makes sense to me because (I'm guessing) the cell towers can locate you approximately and greatly narrow the area the GPS has to search to find you.
     
  20. ghostfox1

    ghostfox1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    My GPS works fine in maps, just the GPS test app doesn't like my phone very much. JF6 btw.
     
  21. keplenk

    keplenk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    My cousin bought a Captivate. GPS is flaky. His friend bought a Vibrant which is also flaky. It seems this thing is for real. Hope for a fix soon. Can't wait to buy this phone.
     
  22. naxir

    naxir Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    4
    yeah, same deal with me. first time I tried to use GPS it flaked out and couldn't get a fix. I then enabled the cell tower bit and it picked my location up fairly quickly. now every time I've tried since, it's instant.
     
  23. Aerimus

    Aerimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    7
    If it's anything like the iPhone, you are exactly right. It gets close with triangulation through cell towers, so the gps doesn't have to narrow it down itself. Drastically speeds up the process. On another note, I am curious about the speed at which it picks up the signal after being in a pocket. This is important for golf gps apps and one of the HUGE benefits of moving to the iphone 4 from iphone 3gs. The iphone 4 picks it up more than twice as fast. Around 2-3 seconds compared to the 10 seconds or so on the 3gs.

    Any feedback would be appreciated.
     
  24. magicdanw

    magicdanw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    After turning on cold start, my GPS seems pretty decent.
     
  25. pkulak

    pkulak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works great for me. Just as good as my Nexus One. I get accuracy within 5 meters in my house after sitting for 10 seconds, and near instant locks. It actually seems a bit better than my Nexus One.
     

Share This Page

Loading...