GPS lock improves over time for me. How about you?


Has your GPS lock times improved w/ use?

Poll closed Sep 22, 2010.
  1. Hell yeah?

    31.3%
  2. F NO!

    68.8%

Last Updated:

  1. antifaithstl

    antifaithstl Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too had terrible GPS lock times when I first got my Captivate a few weeks ago. I tried many of the "fixes" posted here and other places, but no matter which combination I choose, the GPS took many minutes to lock, or never got a lock at all.
    HOWEVER...
    After resigning myself to waiting for the fix reportedly being pushed out by Samsung & using it anyway, I quickly noticed lock-times improved dramatically. Now I get a lock every time within 10 seconds.
    So maybe the GPS software has to have time to "learn" and improves it's lock-times the more you use it? Perhaps 10-20 cycles of turning GPS on & having it attempt to lock I'm guessing.
    I have no idea, but was wondering if others have experienced this as well.
     

    Advertisement
  2. getDange

    getDange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    29
    Did you roll back all the settings to factory's? What settings make the phone work now?
     
    Aspenator likes this.
  3. Taero

    Taero Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    I live in Boston and have generally shite lock ons, clear sky, no buildings (ish, parking lot) and no lock on. Up north in Maine at my in-laws house, lock on within 5-10 seconds and pretty much within 10 ft, constantly. I was locked on, in a bathroom, in a shopping centre (fair enough it put me in the parking lot) but wi-fi was turned off so it must have found me through the gps. I've been up and down about 5 times since I got it, never works in Boston, always works in Maine (also gives very good directions and whilst in a car puts me at the correct intersections and roads).

    Not sure what in the hundred or so miles is causing this considering the relatively small adjustment in terms of satellite los but I can only imagine it's building interference, though HUGE empty parking lot would say otherwise.
     
  4. getDange

    getDange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    29
    WiFi can be off, but if your "location and security" setting has WiFi assist enabled, the phone still uses WiFi signals and cell towers to find your position. Always remember, if you get a true GPS lock, it will never be more than 50 feet off - that is the nature of GPS tech. To truly test if the GPS works, switch off WiFi/Cell assist, and only leave GPS on, in the settings. I honestly believe half of people here who report that their GPS is working are confusing aGPS with true GPS.
     
  5. Taero

    Taero Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nah I know, I had no assist on, still found me though. Another example on the island of nantucket with no assist etc. it was pretty much spot perfect as well, looks like Boston is just difficult for me at least, anyone else have any huge regional disparities with locks?
     
  6. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    It has been getting better for me.
     
  7. getDange

    getDange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    29
    Then I would attribute this to faulty software. It would be related to that same thing people report - their GPS works for a couple of days, then stops working. I would assume whenever you move into a new area where the phone has no data cashed for, GPS starts working again, I guess if you stay in that working area for a week, GPS will quit working.
     
  8. bmoliver

    bmoliver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have been using RunKeeper for the past 4 or 5 days, and so far, it has always been able to get a true GPS lock (i.e., accuracy to 32 ft.) even when other apps (Maps, My Tracks, GPS Test) won't. Once it gets the lock, then the other apps start to work as well. That would suggest to me that it is a software issue. RunKeeper must be doing something differently than the others to kick start the GPS.
     
  9. antifaithstl

    antifaithstl Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do know about the wireless/cell assisted sync feature. But regardless if our was on or not, at first I couldn't get a consultant lock, and now I can. I've also tested with GPS Test.before it would see 8 signals, but either no lock, or I'd get wildly fluctuating lock-ranges, from 45 ft to 16, then 35ft etc.
    Now, I get quick locks, usually 16ft.
    BTW, I am an IT Pro, so forgo the n00b treatment!
    My current settings are:
    MS mode, FQDS settings Auto, Skyhook on. Everything else its set to default.
     
  10. Djidea

    Djidea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well.... my issue is that the first time I open GPS test app during the day while I'm out... it will take about 1 - 1 1/2 minutes to get my location locked. Then after that while I'm still out, we will be driving for like 10 minutes or so and then ill try again and get a lock in 15-20 seconds. So I dunno. Its all over the place. Hope the update comes soon. Still love my captivate though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...