1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

GPS navigation without Google Maps


Last Updated:

  1. piotr

    piotr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I'd like to show you off-road GPS navigator utility, created for active people.

    I like no-map Garmin GPS handy navigators, so I created software, that has most functions of such navigator.

    TripComputer records tracks of your trips and stores your interesting waypoints. You can view them on map view, see stats like distances, speed, time, altitute graph, bearing, azimuth, and many more.

    Also, if you have internet connection, you can send your selected waypoints and find waypoints sent by others,to use in you own trips.

    At this time, TripComputer does not use maps - because in off-road areas, maps are useless. However, topo maps will be supported in future versions.

    Also, I'm working on GPX files and some geocaching support.

    Here you have some screenshots:

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    TripComputer homepage:
    http://www.tripcomputer.pl

    You can find TripComputer in Android Market under Applications/Lifestyle category.

    If you like TripComputer and have found any bug or have an idea, please tell me about it. I need your feedback, to improve this software.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    Thanks for sharing your app with the AF community :D
     
  3. wbbgjr

    wbbgjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. Looks interesting.
     
  4. breon

    breon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please support KML files and/or the ability to log into Google My Maps.
     
  5. wbbgjr

    wbbgjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried the app. I'm liking it so far. Kind of confusing with the different modes (waypt select, track select, etc).

    One possible bug to report: After I close the app and then turn off the gps, the gps icon is still on my notification bar as if it was still running. The only way to get rid of it is to reset the phone.
     
  6. breon

    breon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have a task manager installed? If not, find a free one on the Market. I recommend Taskiller. After you close Tripcomputer, open the task manager and see if it's still running in the background. If it is, manually close it from the list and see if that also closes the GPS notification.
     
  7. piotr

    piotr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will investigate that :)
     
  8. piotr

    piotr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, I know.. but really had no idea, how allow to switch between different modes, and keep UI still readable. So, you have many modes.

    Advantage of this approach, is, that if you learn how to use it, it is quite fast, directly from main screen.

    Thanks, I'll check it. I think, gps is not always turned off immediately, because Android does not kill applications, that are not visible. They are killed after some time, especially when memory is low. So, I try to disable gps, when main dialog is just hidden.

    But remember, if track is recording, GPS icon wiil be active, even if application is inactive, because TripComputer uses service, that is working in background for recording tracks, even if you do something else on the phone.
     
  9. wbbgjr

    wbbgjr Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, the gps icon is still there after I use a taskiller to end everything. I don't think its still tracking because when i test it i did not enable the tracking. Also the program Gps Status says the Gps is not running anymore.
     
  10. piotr

    piotr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    very strange.. but thanks for help.

    In a week or two, I will release new version with this bug (?) removed.
     
  11. pedja.m

    pedja.m Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I remember having the exact same thing with some other GPS software i tried. I even turned off GPS in settings but the icon was still there and not listed in Task Killer
     
  12. piotr

    piotr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    It looks like Android UI bug - system not refreshing status bar after GPS turns off. But of course I can be wrong, wiil check it.
     
  13. Ken Amisraelhai

    Ken Amisraelhai Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Piotr - I installed your application. You know what you are doing - this is a wonderful application. Thank you.
     
  14. piotr

    piotr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I hope it will be even better :)
     
  15. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    95

    Any sort of timeframe on how long until this program supports Topo maps?
     
  16. DevinB

    DevinB Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Topo maps and the ability to import/export trips and waypoints to google maps and/or google earth (kmz files) would make this a killer app, one I'd even pay top dollar for. Keep up the good work!
     
  17. piotr

    piotr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really can't give you any promise. Mainly, because of my daily job, where I'm "wasting" my precious time ;) But I think, soon, in a month or two, I will start work on this, just want to finish other features.
     
  18. piotr

    piotr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just started work on tracks kml export first (because it is easiest), so for a week or two, will be ready. Then, waypoints kml export will be done.

    At this time, you can only send your waypoints to program webservice for backup or for share with others.
     
  19. tisti

    tisti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wow, it looks great. Will definitely install it when you support .kml exports/imports.
     
  20. piotr

    piotr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, it does now :)

    TripComputer in version 1.1 is now available to download from Market.

    This version brings many improvements, most important are:

    • track KML export for Google Maps and Google Earth
    • new light style look

    More informations and help update on program website:

    tripcomputer.pl
     
  21. tisti

    tisti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    It's not working working on the galaxy :( GPS connects just fine but location tracking automatically disables after you enable it.

    Compass works fine though.


    If you willing to look into it and if you need anyone to test it you can drop by the Galaxy subforum or PM me. :) But from what I can see its polished. I would find it scary if every app I downloaded was like this :D
     
  22. piotr

    piotr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, I know that is a GPS problem with Galaxy. I worked on that, but still can't figure out what it is. GPS works fine on G1, Magic, Emulator and Hero. Only problem I have is with Galaxy.

    Once, I found this article:
    samsung i7500 galaxy vs htc hero - Dan Dascalescu's Wiki

    Quote:
    "However, indoors, the HTC Hero got a fix WAY faster than the Galaxy, repeatedly. With both phones on the desk, and only "Enable GPS satellites" checked (no usage of wireless networks to determine location), the Hero gets a GPS fix in less than 30 seconds, while the Galaxy's satellite-based GPS was pathetic indoors: after 5 minutes, it still hasn't got a fix."

    Maybe that is a problem ? TripComputer uses GPS ONLY to find location. Maybe just try to wait some minutes for first fix ? Tell me if it works.
     
  23. tisti

    tisti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well, I did say GPS connects just fine :) Used GPS Connect to verify that GPS does connect (and it does so in under 20 seconds if your not indoors) then I switched to your program. GPS was still connected but you application automatically disabled location tracking.

    If I start without a GPS connection, location tracking remains enabled, but as soon as it gets a GPS lock it disables it.
     
  24. DevinB

    DevinB Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any way to import kml files? I can't seem to find it, if it's already able to.
     

Share This Page

Loading...