GPS overseasSupport


Last Updated:

  1. 550driver

    550driver Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Has anyone taken their Dinc overseas? Does the GPS or wifi work?
     

    Advertisement
  2. abe01

    abe01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    Wifi will work overseas for sure!....As for the GPS, I would assume yes.
     
  3. 550driver

    550driver Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    We leaving for Scotland in a couple of days and I was thinking about getting a golf GPS app. I don't want to if GPS won't work there.
     
  4. sabrewings

    sabrewings Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    104
    What's the G stand for in "GPS"? ;)

    So, the GPS raw data will work but if the app you're using requires any outside network connection, you might incur data charges.
     
  5. Droid777

    Droid777 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. yojoe600

    yojoe600 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2,188
    Likes Received:
    207
    maybe find a map software that comes with preloaded maps
     
  7. makewayhomer

    makewayhomer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    12
    I took mine to Paris.

    GPS works fine. So does WIFI obv.

    the thing is that Maps applications require some data connection, 3g or wifi. in scotland, only wifi will work.

    so, unless you are in a spot with wifi, when you pull up Maps, you are just gonna get the blue arrow on a blank screen. you can get your latitude and longitude I think, but no other information

    you would need to preload maps on there somehow
     
    550driver likes this.
  8. 550driver

    550driver Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    The "G" stands for grief ;)

    I just got off the phone with Golflogix and he said it should work in Scotland if I load the course when I have wifi access. The app only uses GPS after the course is loaded.

    He gave me a seven day free trial so it should be good.
     
  9. mrspeedmaster

    mrspeedmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    256
    GPS will work anywhere. BUT... You still need a data-connection if you want to use turn-by-turn Google NAV. Overseas roaming is expensive.

    You can download maps. There are apps that allow you to pre-load maps so you don't need to rely on a data-connection. That is the best bet. I've done this with other phones.

    You can also do something like use co-pilot and buy the maps for the country you will be visiting.

    Otherwise, I recommend leaving the phone at home. Verizon uses CDMA which is not very compatible with the rest of the GSM world.
     
  10. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    Yeah use something like Co Pilot for GPS worldwide, as the maps are installed on the device :0
     

Share This Page

Loading...